close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Some South Carolina questions....

Discussion in 'Carolina Glockers' started by Turbodreams, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. Turbodreams

    Turbodreams

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    So the fiance has finally agreed to move down there. Well be there in the next year or so, currently saving enough for the move and a backup in case we dont find suitable jobs right away.

    I just have a few questions regarding the laws.

    Bringing my weapons in, anything I need to do?

    Whats it take to get my pistol/ccw/chl permit/license? I already have one here in CT.

    Any bans on anything?

    Class 3 weapons? Suppressors, machine guns, select fire?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. GT4494

    GT4494

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    On I-95 again

  3. Glockphobia

    Glockphobia NOT!

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chapin,S.C.
  4. Turbodreams

    Turbodreams

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    thanks fellas. Def provided some of the info I was looking for.
     
  5. 1985 4Runner

    1985 4Runner Agitator

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gulf Coast MS
    SC is pretty gun friendly. I miss my home State.
     
  6. Forty-eight

    Forty-eight

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pinewood, SC
    To get your CCW permit here in South Carolina, just sign up for the 1 day course offered at local gun dealers. The course consists of about a half a day in the classroom, and then range qualification. They will give you all the paperwork you need, and most of them take your picture, too, so all you have to do is send in the paperwork provided in class along with a money order for $50 to SLED, and in about 90 days your permit will arrive in the mail.
     
  7. Turbodreams

    Turbodreams

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    What if I already have an NRA Pistol course certificate and a CT state pistol permit?
     
  8. GT4494

    GT4494

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    On I-95 again
    Need to check with an expert but we don't tend to trust anyone from
    "Up There" :tongueout:

    IMHO Since CT does not honor the SC permit I would doubt that SC would honor anything about CT.
     
  9. Glockrunner

    Glockrunner HOOYA DEEPSEA

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    4,264
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    SC
    Sorry but a half day just won't cut it. Required 8 hours in the class room and nothing short of that or, you and the instructor are breaking the law.