close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

So now that I own a Ruger SR1911

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by minderasr, Jun 4, 2011.

1. minderasr

minderasr NRA Life Member

May 19, 2009
    New York
    ...and seeing that I'm a total noob to this platform, I need some guidance. I noticed most manufacturers reference Colts (Commander, Gov't Model, officer) when it comes to components, holsters, etc. What would be my reference point for this weapon?

With regard to magazines, I've read that I should stick with seven rounders and avoid the eights. Is this true? What brand of magazine should I be looking at?

And finally, what is the general consensus for both IWB and OWB holsters for concealed carry of the 1911?

Thanks guys, I appreciate whatever advice I can get.

2. Three-Five-Seven

Three-Five-Seven Señor Mombo Millennium Member

Aug 8, 1999
    Great Southwest
    it's a 1911, so anything made for a 1911 will work.

Chip McCormick are the most popular around here. I love mine, for two reasons. One, they work. Two, they are very easy to disassemble for cleaning (I drop mine in the dirt during competition). They are 8 round magazines.

My contribution to the general consensus is that a 1911 is easy to conceal, but too damned heavy to carry.

3. You'll want the government size equipment. As for mags I like Wilson, Tripp, and McCormick. Holsters just depends on what you like. Most seem to prefer leather and others kydex. Welcome to the club by the way.

4. BWT

BWT

Apr 27, 2010
    USA