close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Slide conversion: build a 19L

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by windsorpeltor, Apr 8, 2011.

1. windsorpeltor

windsorpeltor

LWD website suggest that if i want to build a 19L i need the ff:

1. LWD Dust Cover 1
    2. LWD Barrel M/19L 9mm
    3. LWD Slide G17 9mm

My question:
    Since ill be using a stock G17 slide, put a dust cover and use a LWD Barrel M/19L 9mm that has the same specs as the glock 17 stock barrel ([FONT=&quot] length 4.49 inch, 114 mm[/FONT] OAL). Why i cant use the stock barrel of G17?

LWD Barrel M/19L 9mm (specs):
    http://www.lonewolfdist.com/Detail.aspx?PROD=936&CAT=255

LWD Barrel M/17 9mm Stock Length (specs):
    http://www.lonewolfdist.com/Detail.aspx?PROD=926&CAT=238

LWD customer service told me that G17 stock barrel and LWD Barrel M/19L 9mm has different lock ups, and if i use glock 17 stock barrel the pistol will not function.

Can anyone enlighten me? im kinda new with glocks.

BR

2. WA Glocker

WA Glocker

The locking block that the frame uses to catch the barrel is different on the full size and compacts. Basically, the lug on the bottom of the barrel will be shaped slightly differently to catch in either a compact or full size frame. The subs also use the same block as the compacts.

Last edited: Apr 8, 2011

3. windsorpeltor

windsorpeltor

got it:
    G17: full size
    G19: compact

any other solution?

4. WA Glocker

WA Glocker

I'm sorry, doesn't look like there is one =(

I took the slides of my 17L and 26 off and examined why it won't work. The locking blocks on the frames themselves are bigger on the full size. The barrel lug on the full size barrels is also wider & taller to mate with these bigger locking blocks. Finally, The spot on the barrel that catches the spring is also more angled on my 26, on my 17L it is about 90*. Sadly, I think your only option is to buy the lone wolf barrel.