close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Size new brass?

Discussion in '10mm Reloading Forum' started by eman308, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. eman308

    eman308

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like it says, do I need to run new Starline brass through my sizing die prior to loading?
    Thanks,E.
     
  2. Kegs

    Kegs Ol 8 fingers ;)

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cold side of conus
    I size all brass before I load them.

    What do you other guys do?
     

  3. eman308

    eman308

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, reloading is all about OCD!:supergrin: I figured it was a good idea.
    E.
     
  4. 10mmbob

    10mmbob

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    After loading 100 rds. of .308 with new brass without resizing it first,then not having them chamber, then using a bullet puller for an hour, I learned my lesson the hard way. I resize every piece of brass that I load, pistol or rifle. Good Luck!
     
  5. Hogpauls

    Hogpauls

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho
    Yep, size all new brass. You might get away with it in a stock barrel but if you are running an aftermarket maybe not. Just go with the flow with your OCD, it's worked for me.
     
  6. _The_Shadow

    _The_Shadow Ret. Fireman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4,527
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Southeast, LoUiSiAna
    I size all my new brass, with careful inspection for shell holder fit and especially the flash hole being open.

    100% reliability has been my goal for over 30+ years of successful handloading custom amunition...10mm since March 1990!
     
  7. ecmills

    ecmills I shoot guns.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    What does your case gauge say? ;)

    I load on a 650 with a casefeeder, so it would be a LOT more work to skip sizing. But if you load 15+ cases and they all fit a case gauge (or drop in your barrel) freely... I might run with loading unsized new brass.
     
  8. remat

    remat

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You guys size your new 10mm brass? I don't size any of my NEW straight wall pistol brass. What am I missing?
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2010
  9. _The_Shadow

    _The_Shadow Ret. Fireman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    4,527
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Southeast, LoUiSiAna
    Uniformity for best neck tension, open flash holes...there have been several which were not thru and thru even in factory loaded stuff. At least if the flash hole is not open you will find it by running the depriming pin thru them.
     
  10. Maine1

    Maine1

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Maine
    Listen to shadow. I size mine as well. I have had new brass a bullet will slide right into before it is sized. Do what you know you are supposed to do.
     
  11. whenmonkeysfly

    whenmonkeysfly CLM

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Resize ALL my brass too. I agree with Shadow, Kegs, et al. ....
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2010
  12. Taterhead

    Taterhead Counting Beans

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    Yep. In addition to the other inspections, I also run new brass through the resizing die. Some of the cases come not perfectly round. Shipping & handling can take a toll on brass. That is not always easy to detect with a visual inspection. I measure for length after sizing. It is a relatively quick step that adds that small bit of quality assurance.

    I've often wondered if the factory shops do the same.
     
  13. crsuribe

    crsuribe .45-70 GOVT

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    OH
    Do you guys trim it too? Or, when do you trim your brass?
     
  14. Taterhead

    Taterhead Counting Beans

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    I trim rifle brass, but I do not trim 10mm brass. I've noticed that the mouth will not always be perfectly square. One side may be slightly taller than the other and, obviously, trimming can square things. It just hasn't seemed like something overly critical for me to do for pistol cases.

    I have also never needed to trim 10mm cases due to stretching beyond specs. They seem to actually shrink over time instead.
     
  15. whenmonkeysfly

    whenmonkeysfly CLM

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I agree with Taterhead. I don't trim 10mm/9x25 Dillon brass, but trim rifle (.308 & .223).
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2010