close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Silly RAID question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by aspartz, Nov 13, 2005.


  1. aspartz

    aspartz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    3,258
    122
    Location:
    Sandstone, MN 55072
    I am getting a motherboard w/ a Promise FastTrak 100 raid controller built in. My existing system has a PCI ATA card w/ two drives that are both pretty much full. Question: Can I attach these drives to the RAID connections and use them each as individual drives w/ losing any of the data already there?

    ARS
     
  2. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    4,413
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    I’ve done it with a FastTrak 66 so I’m guessing ‘yes’. I configured it for four separate arrays which, naturally, could each only contain one HDD. I think it was RAID1 that let me do this.
     

  3. pyblood

    pyblood
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    499
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    You should be able to do this. Don’t hook up the drive and try to create a RAID array. If you do, it could format your hard drives. Just enable the controller in our bios as “base” or something like that. Don’t enable it as RAID. I would install my OS w/o those drives connected and then add those two drives after the OS has been installed to prevent accidentally formatting those drives during the OS setup.

    I have a computer that has a built in ATA controller card that can be used to set up a RAID array. I just use it for additional storage like you want to do.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Silly Question GSSF Jun 24, 2013
Silly question? Cleaning patches General Glocking Jan 23, 2013
Silly question OX & Alex Forum Mar 18, 2012
Primer pocket silly question Reloading Jul 12, 2011
Silly 1911 magazine question 1911 Forums Jun 11, 2010