close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Shotgun chocks

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by FEDLEO, Sep 19, 2011.

1. FEDLEO

FEDLEO Spread Out!

Aug 13, 2006
    State of disbelief
    I am new to the whole hunting with a shotgun thing. Only reason I am really going to mess with it is a friend of mine is really into it and well it will get me out of the house and give me something to do. He is a rabbit/bird hunter. I put a (or at least what I believe to be a) nice shotgun into lay-away to use for this and skeet etc. It is a Ruger red box over/under. Much like this one: http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=252142460

Here comes the question:

What chokes are best for each of the activities? Rabbits, bird, and skeet? By the way the guy obviously uses dogs and the last thing I would want to do is shoot one of his dogs. So I am not really looking for something with a big pattern out of fear of that

Last edited: Sep 19, 2011
  2. RRTX11

RRTX11

Dec 27, 2010
    Central Texas
    Ruger Red label, great shotgun. If you shoot a couple boxes of shells and aren't use to it, you will feel it.

I use a Benelli M2, semi auto and hunt a lot of Dove, Quail, and Rabits...and for Dove and Quail, I use an Improved Cylinder (IC). For Rabbits, I will usually use an Improved Modified (IM).