close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Setting up DNS

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by lomfs24, Oct 22, 2004.


  1. lomfs24

    lomfs24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    2,028
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Long story short. I got an internet connection and I want to host a website (or two).

    I am using Suse 9 Enterprise for the server. I have something set up wrong in the DNS though. From another computer I can ping ns1.belgradeministorage.info and it comes back with my IP address. But I cannot ping belgradeministorage.info. Were did I go wrong?

    And more importantly, where is a good website that covers setting up DNS in suse 9 Enterprise? That way I can read on my own without bothering all the nice people here.

    --edited-- I can plug the IP address directly into the browser from another computer and get the webserver. Or at least the default spash page that Apache uses.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock
    Expand Collapse
    Scouts Out
    CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    23,791
    182
    I have some "allow-recursion", "allow-transfer", and also-notify sections in the global part of the named.conf but here's the big pieces. Some is redundant but this works ;f:

    __________/etc/named.conf

    options {
    directory "/var/named";
    pid-file "/var/run/named/named.pid";
    auth-nxdomain yes;
    };

    zone "belgradeministorage.info"{
    type master;
    file "db.belgradeministorage.info";
    notify yes;
    allow-query { any; };
    };

    _____________________db.belgradeministorage.info

    $TTL 1M;
    @ IN SOA ns.belgradeministorage.info. nsowner.belgradeministorage.info. (
    2004102201 ; serial
    10800 ; Retry after 3 hours
    3600 ; retry after 1 hour
    2D ; 2 days
    604800 ) ; Minimum TTL of 1 week
    ;
    IN MX 10 mail.belgradeministorage.info.
    ;
    ; Name servers
    ;
    belgradeministorage.info. IN NS ns.belgradeministorage.info.
    belgradeministorage.info. IN NS ns2.granitecanyon.com.
    belgradeministorage.info. IN NS ns1.granitecanyon.com.
    ;
    ; Addresses for the canonical names
    ;
    localhost.belgradeministorage.info. IN A 127.0.0.1
    ns.belgradeministorage.info. IN A 123.123.123.123
    belgradeministorage.info. IN A 123.123.123.123
    mail.belgradeministorage.info. IN A 123.123.123.123
    ;
    ; Pointers to the www site...
    ; For those who insist on dumb names...
    *.belgradeministorage.info. IN CNAME belgradeministorage.info.
     

  3. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock
    Expand Collapse
    Scouts Out
    CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    23,791
    182
  4. lomfs24

    lomfs24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    2,028
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Thanks HerrGlock. That was helpful. I am having a problem with slep 9. They have it set up so that everything runs with ldap support. I have had nothing but problems with ldap. Seems to me that if you change anything you lose everything. I have had this problem and my friend also has had this problem. It is either a POS or there is some stupid setting that we are missing.

    As a result I am in the middle of a fresh install of Slack 10. If Suse and Novell can't get it together then I will use another platform.

    Thanks again for you help.
     
  5. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    ^5 Slack 10!!^5
     
  6. Sinister Angel

    Sinister Angel
    Expand Collapse
    I'd Hit It!

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    252
    0
    Location:
    Traverse City, Michigan
    I recommend getting the book DNS and Bind. I'm not even doing anything DNS related right now and I got it anyway just in case.
     
  7. lomfs24

    lomfs24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    2,028
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    I finally got it all working last night. My IP changed cause I got a static from my ISP so it will take a while for everything to resolve now. But I think I got it working.


    I am much happier with Slack 10. I got apache working, I got mysl working, I got a firewall working, Now all I am fighting with is the cheap crap that my ISP gave me to work with.