close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Screen Jumping Around

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Str8shootr, Dec 19, 2005.


  1. Str8shootr

    Str8shootr
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    268
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Any helpful advice would be deeply appreciated.

    I'll make this as short as I can. Computer: Gateway Laptop, purchased spring 2004. Gateway software that does computer diaganostics. Wireless router card came with it.

    Fastforward....was using PC-Cillin anti virus (Trendmicro), service expired in August. Like an idiot, I didn't renew.
    I started having trouble with a weak signal from my internet wireless connection and ended up connecting my computer directly to the cable modem (stupid I know)

    Any way everything went haywire and my screen changed colors, but will still booted up. I figured I had virus problems. Went and bought a new Norton Pragram, installed it, updated it, and scanned my system. It says my system is clean. Also ran diagnostics from my Gateway software, it says system has no problems.

    My screen colors are still screwed up, and my screen has lots of interference and "jumping". Any ideas, or should I take it in?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Try reinstalling the video driver.May have to remove the current one,reboot and then install the video driver again and reboot.
     

  3. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Right. Start by downloading DriverCleaner 3 and running it in Safe Mode (F8 while booting).

    This removes all traces of the old drivers so you can reinstall them from the disk or from a newer version you download.

    And, as soon as possible, remove Norton Virus. I have yet to see a customer who was happy with Symantec products after seeing their Freeware replacements at work. Avast! or AVG are far superior and take up little RAM and CPU while protecting the PC from infection.

    Did I mention that they are FREE?

    If this does not help, let us know and we will continue to troubleshoot.
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  5. Blitzer

    Blitzer
    Expand Collapse
    Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    12,111
    0
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    I was a COMPAQ service coordinator before the merger with HP.

    The problem could be a corrupted video driver or there may be a mechanical reason for your ills.

    For the mechanical fix:

    There is one or two ribbon cable(s) that connect the LCD screen, near one of the hinges, to the laptop's motherboard.

    I have had several Laptops, Compaq, Toshiba, etc, malfunction on my friend’s laptops.

    Carefully look around the edge of the screen for small dots that cover the screws holding the face (bezel) onto the cover. Remove the little stickers or plugs and use a small , normally Phillips, screw driver to remove the screws from the screen's bezel.

    Now take a thin blade, like a butter knife, and run it along the seam to pop the bezel off the lid, start at the hinge and move around the top of the screen to the other hinge. When that is done you may be 50% finished if it is the screen's cable that is loose otherwise it is onto the case.

    Look for the ribbon cable or cables and check the connectors and the power cable at the connector on the screen. Carefully pop them out using the butter knife and plug them back in, carefully.

    Power up the laptop and see it this has fixed the issues.

    If not it is onto the case.

    Maybe you might take it to a service tech if the software driver does not fix the issues, especially if it is under warranty. Otherwise PM me for more instructions.
    ;) ;f
     
  6. Str8shootr

    Str8shootr
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    268
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    thanks people, all good advice. I will try reinstalling first.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Why does my screen jump around so much while on GT? The Okie Corral Sep 10, 2015
Crimp Jumping The Snubbie Club Mar 25, 2015
Tire Jumping The Lighter Side May 16, 2013
Jumping Dog The Lighter Side Feb 15, 2012
Bungee Jumping The Lighter Side Feb 22, 2004