close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Salvage a Windoze system ?...

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by aircarver, May 25, 2007.


  1. aircarver

    aircarver
    Expand Collapse
    Ride Continues
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    26,887
    2,287
    Location:
    Ft. Worth, Republic of Texas
    I bought a computer off ebay, and promptly changed the hard drive & put it into service as a PVR box.

    The original hard drive contains a Windoze system, but at startup it goes to a Novell manager splash screen with a name pre-entered and it wants a password. Is there a way to disable/remove the Novell manager so's to get access to the Windoze OS ?..

    My daughter uses a Windoze computer & I'd like to have this system as a spare against the time her current system gets bug-bitten and needs replaced (again- I started over three times on that computer befoe Avast came along & seems to have it covered now..)

    If not, there's always 'Plan A'.. which was to blow away the drive & put a Linux distro on it....

    Thanks,
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,601
    857
    Location:
    Indiana
    Now you're talkin.. :thumbsup:

    IGF
     

  3. jeanjvr

    jeanjvr
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    169
    0
    Depends on what version of the novell client the pc's got.

    If it gives you a "Workstation only" option at login, choose that login to windows and try to uninstall it from Add/Remove.

    If you manage that, the welcome screen should be back,

    You could try safe mode, although im not sure if the novell client runs then as well.

    If you cant remove it from Add\remove, just unistall the client from the network card's protocol\client\service list (also all the IPX stuff and print services).

    If you do that, the welcome screen should still be gone, but the normal windows login box should appear.

    Last thing to try, unplug network cable before it boot windows.
     
  4. aircarver

    aircarver
    Expand Collapse
    Ride Continues
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    26,887
    2,287
    Location:
    Ft. Worth, Republic of Texas
    Y'know... I DO have a bunch more drives than boxes that ALREADY have various Linux distros on them.....:supergrin:

    .... & the last box count was 14......
     
  5. grindchug

    grindchug
    Expand Collapse
    Motörhead

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    278
    0
    Location:
    Tx
    Download Knoppix STD, boot from the CD
     
  6. mitchshrader

    mitchshrader
    Expand Collapse
    Deceased

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    8,672
    1
    Location:
    Tulsa
    partition on a separate drive and install it as a slave, ignore it unless needed. all my boxen have a spare copy of the OS installed on a 2nd drive. why not?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
A Southern Security System. The Lighter Side Jan 7, 2016
A good security camera system The Okie Corral Nov 29, 2015
Windoze photo-gallery ... WTFO? Tech Talk Feb 28, 2009
salvage sailors US Navy Forum Feb 17, 2006
A more indepth Feedback system... What Happened To My Want Ads Area? Oct 20, 2005
Duty Gear at CopsPlus