close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

  • Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Safe Mode

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by DeadMansLife, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    916
    1
    May 7, 2000
    Carlisle, PA
    Is there any way to force a PC into safe mode without a restart?

    I still cannot boot into safe mode on my XPHome. Everything is backed-up but I'd rather not do a full restore at this point and cannot restore to an earlier working state.
     

  2. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    916
    1
    May 7, 2000
    Carlisle, PA
    Thanks DC

    It looks like I am going to have to do a full restore, I don't have an XP cd. This system came from HP with a preload partition.
     
  3. Okay I'm not sure how that restores without a cd but I've heard of it.You can download 6 floppies from microsoft and you don't need the XP cd.May be able to put the floppies on a cd.
     
  4. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    I just did a system restore on a friends HP computer. It’s painless … you go to PC Help and Tools folder on the Start Menu and select HP PC System Recovery and follow the prompts. You have the option to do a complete recovery which formats the user partition or a recovery that only reinstalls the OS and all of the applications and claims that you will not loose any data.


    The HP recovery works in two parts; first it formatted the partition and installed the OS. After a reboot you go through the "Windows first time ... " MS license, time zone, user name etc ... Second you get a HP screen with a count down clock (9:40) where it installs all of the trash (read ...HP software) ... it took 22 minutes and two reboots.
     
  5. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    916
    1
    May 7, 2000
    Carlisle, PA
    DC,

    I can get an XPH CD from a friend. Will my product key work with it if I do a full install?
     
  6. If it's the same kind of Windows XP.I'm not even sure if you need product key for just a repair install.
     
  7. There are different XP home CD's."Retail",OEM and brand name.
     
  8. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    916
    1
    May 7, 2000
    Carlisle, PA
    I'm not sure which it is. He got it when he took his pc to have it repaired and upgraded. It is a full ver., not the upgrade ver. I am not sure if the repair shop used an OEM or retail. He did give him a CD with it that was still sealed.
     
  9. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    916
    1
    May 7, 2000
    Carlisle, PA
    I am thinking if I can use my prod. key with his full ver CD, I may just do a full install and wipe out the HP preload.
     
  10. Try a repair install first.If his CD is an OEM and not HP your product key may or may not work.
     
  11. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    916
    1
    May 7, 2000
    Carlisle, PA
    Thanks DC, I ended up doing a full restore anyway. Could not get his CD for the next 2 weeks.