close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Running a cable line

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by r3dot, Jan 25, 2012.

  1. r3dot

    r3dot

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7,736
    Likes Received:
    6,558
    Location:
    Izzerwat TX
    We just moved and had cable installed in our living room. Now a couple of months later, we want to run a line to a bedroom. I really don't want to pay $100+ to have them come out here, so is it possible to do it myself?
     
  2. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sturgis Michigan
    Yep. All the materials should be available at your local Walmart / Mejier, radio shack, or home improvement center. It's real easy if you have an unfinished basement and only slightly annoying if you are going through finished walls.
     

  3. r3dot

    r3dot

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7,736
    Likes Received:
    6,558
    Location:
    Izzerwat TX
    No basement. Where do I tie into the existing cable connection?
     
  4. kenpoprofessor

    kenpoprofessor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ex POW in the PRK now N. Phoenix AZ
  5. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    24,582
    Likes Received:
    2,261
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    Trace the cable feed from the utility. There should be a box somewhere on the outside of the house where the cable comes in from the ground (pole?) If it's a one-into-one coax junction with a ground cable going to a spike in the ground or water pipe, just replace it with a one-into-two/three/four, etc. and run cables to every room in the houseif you wish. HH
     
  6. Atomic Punk

    Atomic Punk

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    725
    some of the cable box's outside the house have a security sleeve around the coax to keep you from connecting or disconnecting the coax.
    the appropriate tool can be had without much problem. i got one off of ebay a while ago. around somewhere.
     
  7. fireguy129

    fireguy129 NRA Member 2008

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Northeast Pa, usa
    same floor? different floor? what's below you?

    I've snuck a coax under the bottom of moldings most of the way around a room to get into a closet where I could punch through. Mother in law wouldn't let me do it the easier way, out and over.
     
  8. jpa

    jpa CLM

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Messages:
    8,030
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    It's much easier to just run it in through your window from your neighbor's house. ;)
     
  9. janice6

    janice6 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    34,308
    Likes Received:
    19,316
    Location:
    minnesota
    Be sure to get the proper connectors for your coax. There are two sizes of connectors depending on which grade of RG6 you buy.

    I have about 600 feet in the house, counting the video lines.
     
  10. southernshooter

    southernshooter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    3,155
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Columbia, S.C.
    I did something like that. Just called a splitter at Radio Shack.
     
  11. failsafe

    failsafe

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,045
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Missouri
    Are you using a digital modem? Splitters can cause some signal loss, the more splitters , more signal loss..A signal amplifier can help those issues...
    Not all splitters are created equal..My cable company
    ,Time Warner, came at no charge to me and provided the proper splitters and amplifier..
     
  12. 220-9er

    220-9er

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    North of Atl
    Spend the $100.
     
  13. byf43

    byf43 NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    11,880
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Southern Maryland
    I've run more cable than I care to remember!!!
    My house(s). My parents' house. My sister's house. My M-I-L's house.
    My daughter's house.

    Get quality cable!!
    *Hint - Not too long ago, I bought a 500 foot spool from HD that was less than a 75 ft coil from Radio Shack! Same stuff! Use RG6-Q.
    Get some good connectors and 'crimp tool'. Get high quality splitters. Some, no, most are JUNK.

    IF you want to run cable across your attic (or in a crawlspace), learn the layout of your house and where the wall studs are.
    (Get a 'stud finder' at Home Depot!)
    Also, get a 'multiple section wire snake' and some 'old work boxes'. (Also available at HD or Lowe's.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2012
  14. Z71bill

    Z71bill

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    16,025
    Likes Received:
    3,159
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you have a cable box (tuner decoder) right next to your TV set?

    The way my cable works - I must have the tuner box by each TV - if I use a splitter after the box then both TV sets would be on the same channel.

    BTW Comcast sucks ass - just had to throw that in - we just paid our $180 cable bill.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2012
  15. r3dot

    r3dot

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7,736
    Likes Received:
    6,558
    Location:
    Izzerwat TX
    Yeah, we have a cable box on the main tv.
     
  16. fireguy129

    fireguy129 NRA Member 2008

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Northeast Pa, usa
    Compression fittings are hands down the best fitting out there. The kit at HD or wherever isn't bad, but the strippers wear out. The one at harbor freight is decent for homeowner stuff.
     
  17. byf43

    byf43 NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    11,880
    Likes Received:
    505
    Location:
    Southern Maryland
    Just a thought -
    You said that the cable company wants $100 to run the cable to your bedroom.

    Unless you plan on running additional 'runs' to different rooms (or use the equipment often) you might want to consider having the cable company run the stuff.
    There's a very high probability that you will have to rent another 'decoder' box, too.