Resale value of a Glock w grip modification

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by maestrogustav, Jan 24, 2013.

1. Let's say from one of the best pros in the business-- a hump reduction and texturing will have what sort of impact on the resale value of a current Glock?

Please let us know if you've had experience with this. thanks.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Loading...

Similar Threads Forum Date
    Does LEO and special pricing hurt resale values? General Firearms Forum Jul 19, 2013
    Resale value of almost brand new G21? Like new W/ 2x13 mgs + 2x27 rnd mags The Okie Corral Sep 20, 2011
    Dillon resale value Reloading Mar 31, 2011
    Resale value? Band of Glockers Jan 26, 2011
    Resale Value Car Forum Dec 10, 2006

3. I have no personal experience with GLocks, but I do know that for most guns custom modifications don't usually add much to anything on resale... and sometimes can lower your resale.

Perhaps on this if you sold it to another forum member who is seeking a grip reduction then you might be okay. Personally... I wouldn't buy a gun with a modified frame or grip... others might.

4. jakebrake

jakebrake cracker

normal circumstances, i'd say it's the kiss of death.

these days, put it on gunbroker as an assault glock...and retire.

seriously, photos would probably help to determine how much you'll lose off "normal" pricing.

5. Most grip mods, even from a pro, make the weapon look like crap. It will hurt the resale value significantly. When people buy used, they want a stock gun. Changing sights is ok, it's not a permanent alteration, chopping the grip is.

6. My experience has been different than other posters. If its done well by someone known it does not change value as long as the buyer wants and appreciates the mods. Thats been my experience. However, the challenge is that once you do a grip mod you have made the appeal of your gun narrow and finding that special buyer could take a long time.
    MB
    :cool:

7. iflyem1