close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Reloads in Glock?

Discussion in 'Caliber Corner' started by Nemesis., Feb 14, 2013.


  1. Nemesis.

    Nemesis.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    838
    0
    I know this has been done to death, but I've got a Glock 19. If I promise to use only fmj or plated bullets, can I shoot reloads in it?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. TX Archer

    TX Archer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    398
    43
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I certainly hope it's ok. Otherwise, I've wasted thousands of rounds of reloads through mine.
     

  3. TheGlockTalker

    TheGlockTalker
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    446
    12
    You should have no problems but if you want to and just to be even more safe than you already are you could get a KKM Barrel.
    They are made for a much higher pressure tolerance than Glock so if you get a round with too much powder it's more likely to be ok and not blow up in your hand using the KKM.
     
  4. LampShadeActual

    LampShadeActual
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    297
    10
    The following is a middle of the road 9mm load matching American power 9mm that operates perfectly in any and every gun ever tried in including Glock models 17, 19, 19Gen4, 34, and 26. Note that all three bullet types shoot to the same point of aim as factory equivalents at 25 yards. The LRN bullet has never leaded any of the guns including not leading the five Glocks.

    Bullet: 115 FMJ/JHP, 124 FMJ/JHP, and 124 Lead Round Nose LRN
    Powder: 4.1 grains Bullseye Pistol Powder from a RCBS Little Dandy fixed rotor #7
    Primer: Any WW, CCI, Fed small pistol primer
    Case: Any commercial brass, yours or range pickup. Avoid Milbrass with crimped primers.
    COAL: 1.100" to 1.103" works perfect. So does 1.130" work perfect. No shorter than the 1.100". 1.130" is long enough.

    Bullets have been Remington bulk FMJ and JHP, Hornady FMJ, home cast lead and purchased lead cast bullets. For a quality lead cast bullet, see:

    http://www.dardascastbullets.com They will advise you on a diameter for your gun.

    For lead bullets, the Lyman two step M die expander is the best. The standard Lee type that makes a funnel at the case mouth doesn't let lead bullets start correctly. Jacketed bullets work just fine in the Lee die sets. Crimp only enough to remove the belling that let bullets be started.

    The reason for the lead bullets is that the jacketed ones are impossible to find and that the lead ones cost half as much. 25 yard IPSC "A" zones do not know what went through them. There is just a hole in the same place with either type of bullet.

    For a Glock, avoid the Ranier or Berry type plated bullets. They take a 3" at 25 yard Glock with lead or jacketed bullets and make it into an 18" group of 10 shots at 25 yards. Not useful.
     
    #4 LampShadeActual, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2013
  5. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,699
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    :upeyes::upeyes::upeyes:
     
  6. SJ 40

    SJ 40
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    13,207
    2,826
    Location:
    Vermont
    I have shot tens of thousands of reloaded rounds through various Glocks,including cast lead with not one problem. SJ 40
     
  7. kodiakpb

    kodiakpb
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    2,185
    20
    Only if you promise and don't cross your fingers!
     
  8. SCmasterblaster

    SCmasterblaster
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    17,806
    552
    Location:
    Hartford, Vermont
    I've been shooting lead and jacketed reloads thru my G17 since 1989.
     
    #8 SCmasterblaster, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013
  9. Nemesis.

    Nemesis.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    838
    0
    Thanks guys. That's what I thought.
     
  10. SCmasterblaster

    SCmasterblaster
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    17,806
    552
    Location:
    Hartford, Vermont
    But the lead bullets I used were 150 gr LRN, I'd drive them at 850 FPS so that the bore wouldn't become coated in lead.
     
    #10 SCmasterblaster, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013
  11. DWARREN123

    DWARREN123
    Expand Collapse
    Grumpy Old Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    7,046
    1,114
    Location:
    CLARKSVILLE TN
    I have shot thousands of rounds of lead, plated and jacketed reloads thru 10mm, 40 S&W and 9mm Glocks with no problems.
    On reloads, good reloads are good and bad ones are bad as in any firearm. :supergrin:
     
  12. dkf

    dkf
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    5,428
    121
    I got a chuckle out of that post also.



    All my Glocks get fed mostly reloads. All have OE Glock barrels. Even my extra barrels are Glock barrels.
     
    #12 dkf, Feb 15, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013
  13. FLAHOTROD

    FLAHOTROD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    437
    1
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Shhhhh...don't tell Gaston.
     
  14. WinterWizard

    WinterWizard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    1,417
    3
    Yep. Cause we all know Glock barrels are designed to work at maximum pressure. Go over by 1% and the barrel will blow up. Give me an effing break. :upeyes:
     
    #14 WinterWizard, Feb 15, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013
  15. SCmasterblaster

    SCmasterblaster
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    17,806
    552
    Location:
    Hartford, Vermont
    Here's your break. :cool:
     
  16. Beware Owner

    Beware Owner
    Expand Collapse
    NOT a victim.

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    8,555
    0
    Question is, do you reload?
     
  17. ron59

    ron59
    Expand Collapse
    Bustin Caps

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    6,927
    20
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    I have a G34 with ~20,000 reloads through it... no factory ammo ever.

    A G30SF with 1 box of factory (mostly to chrony it) and the rest have been reloads.

    Reloads are fine.
     
  18. SCmasterblaster

    SCmasterblaster
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    17,806
    552
    Location:
    Hartford, Vermont
    Awesome. I wonder what Gaston Glock would think of that?
     
  19. Scott30

    Scott30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    519
    0
    Location:
    Central VA
    Reload supplies would be in stock everywhere if they could not be used in Glocks.
     
  20. SCmasterblaster

    SCmasterblaster
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    17,806
    552
    Location:
    Hartford, Vermont
    I am pretty sure that Glock has said that reloads void the Glock warrantee.