close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Reloading Plated Bullets

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by smokin762, Dec 17, 2012.


  1. smokin762

    smokin762
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    5,250
    4
    Location:
    Ohio
    I want to reload some Plated 230gr. RN .45 ACP Bullets. I have Accurate No. 5 Powder and No. 7 Powder. I can't find any information for Plated bullets in the Accurate manual. I'm not sure if I should use the Lead Bullet information or not.

    I bought the pack of Bullets at the Gun Show. They are labeled Frontier Bullets .45 ACP 230gr. TCJ.

    The TCJ Bullet is not in the link from the Manufacture though. Maybe I'm missing it.:dunno:

    http://www.frontierbullets.co.za/
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Firecop203

    Firecop203
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    772
    100
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    You probably won't find any data for Plated bullets. Load them to the same specs as Lead bullets.
     

  3. SARDG

    SARDG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    7,533
    2
    Location:
    Florida's Left Coast
    I take it you hadn't read the many posts on GTR of ALL the caveats of new reloaders loading plated bullets - only one of which is that no data is available.
     
  4. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    8,033
    267
    Go to the bullet manufacturer's web site. You will find that you can load as high as mid-range for jacketed bullets as long as you stay under 1200 fps. But go read it for yourself, it's your gun that will be shooting the things, not mine!

    Pay attention to what SARDG posted. Plated bullets are a PITA because the jacket is fragile, load data is nonexistent and they aren't cheaper than Precision Delta jacketed bullets.

    In short, give them a pass...

    Richard
     
  5. smokin762

    smokin762
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    5,250
    4
    Location:
    Ohio
    I bought 300 rounds of them. They were $15.00 per 100. I just wanted to try them. Would I be better off just buying lead until I get casting equipment?
     
  6. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    8,033
    267
    You didn't say which gun you were using. There is a raging debate about using lead bullets in Glock barrels. You will find people who routinely change out the barrel to something like a KKM and other who have shot hard cast lead for years through the factory barrel.

    I bought the KKM...

    You can load up the plated bullets but keep the loading below mid-range for a similar jacketed bullet. When they are gone, go forth and sin no more!

    Be very careful of your taper crimp. Don't crease the bullet. Make sure your load is moderate and the velocity below 1200 fps.

    The vast majority of my reloads are lead. I am buying S&S casting and have used Bear Creek bullets. Both are excellent and neither seemed to foul my Glock barrel. But I still changed barrels...

    I don't shoot my Glock very often but I still wanted to be able to shoot lead without worrying about cleaning the barrel mid-day.

    Richard
     
  7. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,474
    824
    Location:
    so.cal.
    Certainly not a bargain.:wow: Actual jacketed bullets from PD for $13.20/100, but ya gotta buy 2000 to get that price.
    Load them as a lead bullet. Be careful to not over crimp. Then don't buy anymore, you actually got gunshow smacked at that price. Gotta shop better.:dunno:
    http://www.precisiondelta.com/product.php
    http://www.tjconevera.com/x4523rnplbu1.html
    http://store.affordablebrassandbullets.com/catalog/product/2fe220783b43d7a86242ae6290ba1c68
     
    #7 fredj338, Dec 18, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  8. smokin762

    smokin762
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    5,250
    4
    Location:
    Ohio
    I put KKM barrels in all my Glocks a few years ago. Recently, I bought a Glock 36. I checked KKM’s site, they don’t have a barrel for it.

    I intend to use lead in all my handguns. I would really like to use lead in my 16” AR 9mm but I don’t know if that would be a problem, so I will wait on that until I have read something that shows it’s okay first. Then I’ll still be hesitant about it.

    For now, I want to use lead in my G30 and G36.

    The Accurate manual states with a 5” barrel for AA#5.

    230gr. RNFMJ start load 7.8gr. of 816 fps with a Max of 8.7gr. at 927 fps. C.O.L of 1.250”.

    230gr. Lead Bullet start load of 7.7gr. of 852 fps with a Max load of 8.5gr. at 968 fps. C.O.L. of 1.230”.

    With the different lengths, it seems a little confusing. I just don’t know if it would be safe to go by the Lead Data and use the 1.250” length. I know that length chambers fine in both of my Glocks.
     
  9. SARDG

    SARDG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    7,533
    2
    Location:
    Florida's Left Coast
    I tend to look at reloading as less of an experiment and exercise in mixed futility and failures, and more as an exercise in efficiency and economics. If you stick with bullets or other components that are widely used, you will find data. Call me too efficient, but my very first bullet order, before I had loaded a single round in my life, was 3000 MG 147 CMJs. Research (before purchase) is your friend and I was confident from my research that I could come up with a workable load using that bullet and my chosen powder - and I have. No compromises either - the load works perfectly after I fine-tuned a couple of parameters based on my guns.

    It would be my suggestion that new reloaders (like me, for that matter) stick with popular, common components for which data is available; no plated bullets, and that they seat and crimp separately. Leave those extra challenges for later in your reloading career. Begin buying in bulk the moment you are comfortable with a developed load. And like I said, I rolled the dice and bought nearly everything in bulk before the first round dropped off the press - but... I over-researched prior to that.
     
  10. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    8,033
    267


    I don't think there are too many people suggesting lead bullets in a gas operated rifle.

    1.250" is the standard length for a 230 gr RN of any type. I even use if for my LSWCs. It's longer than 1.230" so the pressure will be a little bit lower. The criteria, and the things you should check, are simple: Does it fit the magazine? Does it chamber? More important, does the bullet not hit the rifling? Make sure when you drop the bullet in the chamber that it will spin on the casemouth and that the bullet doesn't drag on anything.

    The SAAMI standard for .45 ACP OAL is in the range of 1.190" to 1.275" but that says nothing about how reloaders can determine if the pressure is below the max.

    I would probably start at the minimum charge of 7.8 gr (AA #5) and work up to somewhere around 8.2 gr for a plated bullet. As long as the gun cycles and the round is accurate, additional powder isn't a goal.

    Richard
     
  11. smokin762

    smokin762
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    5,250
    4
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ya, I get what you are saying about the bullet manufacture and powder data. When you buy unknown components, it becomes a pain to find information for it. I have been figuring this one out also.

    I want to buy casting equipment. I have decided to get Lyman molds for lead bullets. In their manual, they use a reference number with the bullet from their mold and it contains the loading data with the powders that I want to use. Everything is there in black and white. For me, it simplifies things.

    I have already been going through all my reloading manuals and have been cross referencing all the components with the powder that I want to use. If the manuals don’t have the data, then I’ll buy the components that match up with that data, word for word until I get experience.

    As far as the plated bullets, I thought the plated bullet would reduce leading. I’m not going to think about it anymore.
     
  12. smokin762

    smokin762
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    5,250
    4
    Location:
    Ohio


    The 9mm AR works as direct blowback. All the pistol caliber AR’s I am aware of do not have a gas tube. My concern was the 16” of barrel length. Not sure if that was to long for a lead bullet and most likely causing it to get up to higher velocities.

    Thank you, I never thought about spinning the loaded bullet in the chamber, checking for resistance.

    I’ll go with the Start load of the RNFMJ data.

    Thank you. :wavey:
     
  13. Colorado4Wheel

    Colorado4Wheel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    14,898
    151
    Location:
    CO
    Properly loaded plated will not lead at all.
     
  14. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    8,033
    267
    I didn't know that! Blowback...

    There are a lot of people shooting lead bullets in rifles and I don't see why 9mm would be an exception. OTOH, I don't have any load data for such a thing.

    Somebody around here will have done it!

    Richard
     
  15. SARDG

    SARDG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    7,533
    2
    Location:
    Florida's Left Coast
    So will jacketed - but there is data for, and fewer issues with, jacketed.
     
  16. smokin762

    smokin762
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    5,250
    4
    Location:
    Ohio
    For me the issue is, at the club I belong to they will only allow members to shoot at metal reactive targets with lead only. It’s kind of getting old for me using .22lr only for this purpose. I want to practice this with my CCW guns as well.
     
    #16 smokin762, Dec 18, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  17. smokin762

    smokin762
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    5,250
    4
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ya, my RRA 9mm AR, the upper receiver is not even drilled for a gas tube. My Spikes Tactical dedicated .22lr Upper is drilled for a gas tube. Both rifles are gas blow back.

    At my club, I know they have Cowboy shoots with pistols and pistol caliber lever action carbines, I can only assume they use lead. I never asked them. :dunno:
     
  18. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    8,033
    267

    Even plated bullets have some kind of jacket. It's not much but it is still a jacket.

    I shoot lead because I am cheap! OTOH, my grandson will NEVER shoot lead, by edict! So I load FMJ for him. Since we both shoot .45 ACP, it's no big deal. The load and the OAL are the same.

    FWIW, lead will splash back quite a ways. I was shooting 12 gauge slugs at a metal plate 50 yards down range and managed to get a teardrop shaped piece of splashback in my leg. I had to go have it removed which involved lying my *** off about how it happened.

    Wear those safety glasses!

    Richard
     
  19. smokin762

    smokin762
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    5,250
    4
    Location:
    Ohio
    This evening, I started loading the plated bullets. I started off with dummy loads, I went with the jacketed bullet data first. No primers or powder. I wanted to check them in the chamber first.

    I didn’t feel comfortable with the length of C.O.L. at 1.250”. As suggested by F106 Fan, check to see if the loaded bullet will turn freely in the chamber. It did not. At that point, I decided to use the lead bullet data instead. It states to use a C.O.L. of 1.230”. I adjusted for that.

    Using the Accurate Manual as my source, I went with the load data for the 230gr. lead bullets with AA# 5. I loaded up a total of 100 rounds. I did this because I have 2 different Glocks chambered in .45 ACP. I wanted to test each load with 10 rounds in each gun.

    1st 20 rounds, 7.7gr.
    2nd 20 rounds at 7.8gr.
    3rd 20 rounds at 7.9gr.
    4th 20 rounds at 8.0gr.
    5th 20 rounds at 8.1gr.

    At any point, if I notice any problems, I will not continue with the next load. I will bring them home and take them apart.
     
  20. SARDG

    SARDG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    7,533
    2
    Location:
    Florida's Left Coast
    I load 230gr MG CMJ (which look a lot like FMJ) in my G30 at 1.259 with no issues. Are you certain that the loaded cartridge woudn't turn freely in the chamber? How's your crimp? Did you use a Sharpie on the bullet (or around the crimp for that matter) to see where something may be rubbing in the chamber?