close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Reloading for G27?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by jimkayak, Feb 8, 2013.


  1. jimkayak

    jimkayak
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    2
    0
    I am fairly new to Glock and recently bought the model 27 (40 cal) and have been very happy with it. I am also fairly new at reloading and after purchasing the Glock, I also purchased everything I needed to reload some rounds. As I was reading over everything, I ran across a warning on a piece of paper included with my Lee dies. The warning stated to not use hand loads in a Glock. This was a big surprise to me - and very disappointing. I was planning to reload using Unique power, with the starting load for 180 gr fmj. Does anyone have experience reloading for a G27 (although the warning was not specific to the G27). Should I forget about reloading for this pistol? Or is it ok, using lighter loads?

    Thanks!

    Jim
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Steel Head

    Steel Head
    Expand Collapse
    Tactical Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    14,797
    27,417
    Location:
    A cat box in WA
    I just started reloading 40s&w for my G23.
    I have had good results with mild JHP and FMJ loads with a few different powders.
    Brass comes out looking better with the mild loads I've tried too!
     

  3. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    976
    Location:
    Indiana
    Load a 27 just like you do anything else.

    Load 5 rounds of a "low" charge that is in your loading manual.. and if it cycles reliably, accurate, you're happy, etc.. then that's your load. If there's a problem, bump it up a notch, load 5-10 more, and repeat the process.

    As for loading for the 27... it's fine. Main thing w/ reloading for Glocks, is if you're using lead bullets, you need to really pay attention to lead buildup on the barrel... but that doesn't sound like it's an issue for you..

    Be safe

    IGF
     
    #3 IndyGunFreak, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013
  4. sourdough44

    sourdough44
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    3,019
    130
    Location:
    WI
    Reloading for a Glock works just fine for many. With the 40 I would keep your loads reasonable with a 'medium' speed powder. You may have cycling issues at min charges.

    I mostly use H Universal with the 40, Unique should work fine.
     
  5. Smoker

    Smoker
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    616
    0
    Location:
    NE Kansas
    Please reference some of the hundreds of threads already here on reloading for Glocks there is a bunch of them.
     
  6. ColoCG

    ColoCG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    936
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Most gun manufacturers do not recommend using reloads in their guns. It is a CYA thing written by their lawyers. You should have no problem if you use listed loads from reliable sources and use starting to midrange loads.
     
  7. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,468
    817
    Location:
    so.cal.
    As noted, the warning is CYA for GLock. Your GLock will happily run on any sane handload. Where guys get into trouble is trying to make the 40 a 10mm or the 10mm a 41mag, neither works very well that way. Also using the wrong powders to make 40 major is also responsible for many a Glock KB. Choose a good med burner like Unique, WSF, Univ, HS6 & stay with book loads, you should be fine.
     
    #7 fredj338, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013
  8. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    976
    Location:
    Indiana
    :rofl:

    If I had more quote space... You'd win a spot with that one
     
  9. AZson

    AZson
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    3,492
    147
    Location:
    Tucson
    My G38 is why I started reloading and by the way, just use a good molly coated lead bullet and they will work just fine in your Glocks and yes do not go to max load from the beginning work you way up if you can.
     
    #9 AZson, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013
  10. jimkayak

    jimkayak
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    2
    0
    Thanks a lot guys. I went ahead and finished my loads and shot them today with no problems. I stayed with the starting load amount and liked it. I may move up a little next time, but wanted to make sure of the situation first. I was confused by my Lee dies only mentioning Glock in their warning, but glad there are no apparent problems. Thanks again.
     
  11. Globetruck

    Globetruck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    52
    0
    Does "hand load" equate to hand poured lead bullets? If you reload with commercially manufactured FMJ bullets, is that really a "hand load?" I dunno... Thoughts?
     
  12. randyc74

    randyc74
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    921
    0
    Location:
    Northern Illinois
    I reload for my G23, G27, G30, and G34. I also use Lee dies in all of my reoading. As long as you keep your loads reasonable you will do fine. I use Berry's 180 gr. plated bullets over 4.6 gr. of Unique.
     
  13. Colorado4Wheel

    Colorado4Wheel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    14,898
    151
    Location:
    CO
    Remnants from internet myth started Decades ago. If you belief in Santa and Tooth Fairies you should probably not load for a Glock. Most of us gave up on these myths a long time ago.
     
  14. Taterhead

    Taterhead
    Expand Collapse
    Counting Beans

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    3,581
    94
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    "Hand loads" are ammo loaded by oneself. They may be "reloads" with used brass or with all new components.

    Some guys refer to "hand loads" when they are talking about meticulous loading of premium homemade ammo.

    Really, though, it is usually a term interchangable with "reloads."
     
  15. Run&Shoot

    Run&Shoot
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    83
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I've reloaded for my .40 Glocks for 20 years. Good powders are in the range of AA5, Unique, Universal, Power Pistol.

    Stay away from max SAAMI loads for extra measure of safety. Load plated or jacketed bullets for simplicity. However I have loaded and shot thousands of lead bullets through mine just fine.

    The hardness of the lead bullet and the pressure it is shot with may or may not cause slipping on the hexagonal "rifling". This could lead to less accuracy and faster leading of the barrel. If you shoot lead bullets watch the accuracy and leading to see if your configuration causes it or not. If so, try a different bullet or less velocity/pressure. Always be sure to clean your barrel well after every couple of hundred rounds of lead just to be sure you avoid increased pressures from heavily leaded barrel.

    Or, you can get an after market barrel with normal rifling and not be concerned with possible lead bullet issues. .
     
  16. ColoCG

    ColoCG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    936
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I just received a good example of gun manufacturers opinion on using reloads in their guns.

    This email I received from Kahr Technical dept. about a question regarding whether the Kahr CM9 barrel which is standard rifling would work to use with cast bullets instead of their polygonal rifling barrel in their PM9 gun. The guns are the same size other than barrel rifling and minor cosmetic differences.

    Good afternoon. We do not make or offer any barrels that can be used to shoot reloaded ammunition through our firearms. I apologize for any inconvenience.

    Kahr Customer Service
    508-795- 3919
    www.kahr.com
    www.tommygun.com

    :faint:
     
    #16 ColoCG, Feb 11, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
  17. Zombie Steve

    Zombie Steve
    Expand Collapse
    Decap Pin Killa

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    18,074
    17
    Location:
    Old Colorado City
    All gun manuals will say not to use reloads. Think of how many boneheads who start reloading try to make a super awesome sniperaceninjawolf load (because Buffalo Bore can do it), jack up their gun and send it back to the manufacturer for "warranty" work. Frankly, I don't blame them.

    If you're approaching your reloads with some common sense, there's no reason you can't make something safe, accurate and consistent.


    Edited to add - didn't we used to call those "Monkey Magnums" here?


    Where's Koski?
     
    #17 Zombie Steve, Feb 11, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013