close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Reloaded brass in Glock OEM barrel?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Jim B in CO, Nov 15, 2010.


  1. Jim B in CO

    Jim B in CO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    1,043
    15
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    (I tried searching but the search function doesn't seem to be working too well at the present.)

    How many times do you shoot reloaded brass in a Glock OEM barrel? I have G27 (.40 S&W) and a G29 (10mm). I'm guessing those two are about the worst case scenario in terms of loose chambers/lack of case support/bulged brass. I was thinking of using the brass five times in the .40 and less than that (2 or 3?) in the 10mm. Obviously, regardless of how many times it's been used, I'd still need to do a good visual inspection and toss any brass that has cracks, splits, etc.

    BTW, I got a Lee Bulge Buster today and it specifically says not to use in Glocks chambered in .40.

    TIA,

    Jim :cool:
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 Jim B in CO, Nov 15, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2010
  2. Jim B in CO

    Jim B in CO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    1,043
    15
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    BTW, I'd says my reloads are around the middle of the scale in terms of power - about 900fps with a 180 grain bullet.
     

  3. shotgunred

    shotgunred
    Expand Collapse
    reloading nut

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    8,621
    852
    I just use my Dillon resizing die.
    I can't tell you I just keep recycling it into the brass bucket as long as it isn't cracked. Lets just say lots of times. (10+)

    :rofl::rofl::brickwall::deadhorse:
     
  4. XDRoX

    XDRoX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    6,115
    1,767
    Location:
    San Diego
    Just reload it until in splits. If you're not loading it hot, you'll get lots of loads out of it. Over 10 times easy.

    How old are your Glocks? What gen?
     
  5. Hoser

    Hoser
    Expand Collapse
    Ninja

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    2,338
    34
    Reload it till you cant read the headstamp or till it cracks.
     
  6. XDRoX

    XDRoX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    6,115
    1,767
    Location:
    San Diego
    You stop when you can't read the headstamp? Don't be so wasteful:supergrin:
     
  7. Boxerglocker

    Boxerglocker
    Expand Collapse
    Jacks #1 Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    6,143
    24
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Then what is the point of having one?!

    The whole Glock bulged brass thing is these days way over rated in my opinion too… All my brass has been range pickups from mostly once fired sources, a lot from Glocks. I have never had issues with any of the traditional sizing dies I have used or even on the proprietary SDB dies for that matter. I have fired new factory ammo from my Glock, reloaded it for my LWD/KKM .40 barrels and vice versa… no problems.
     
  8. Jim B in CO

    Jim B in CO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    1,043
    15
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    Ok, it sounds like my "use it five times then toss it" plan should be good. Maybe a bit on the conservative side, but I'm fine with that.

    Are you all using the OEM barrels?
     
    #8 Jim B in CO, Nov 15, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2010
  9. Jim B in CO

    Jim B in CO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    1,043
    15
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    I just bought the G27 brand new about a month ago but the fired brass from the factory has a date of 9/14/09 (I thought it was weird that the gun was made over a year ago).

    The G29 has a rail and finger grooves.
     
  10. Jim B in CO

    Jim B in CO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    1,043
    15
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    That was my question to the good people at Lee (I called them). The guy I spoke with said it was ok to use on brass that had been fired from a Glock one time but to never use the brass in a Glock again. I'm only relaying what he told me...:dunno:
     
  11. Jim B in CO

    Jim B in CO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    1,043
    15
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    So, without beating this to death any more, using the BB should be fine, correct?
     
  12. Boxerglocker

    Boxerglocker
    Expand Collapse
    Jacks #1 Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    6,143
    24
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Honestly Jim that sounds like a lawyer talking... personally I wouldn't use it unless you were actually having an issue. By the sounds of you G27 born date you won't.
     
  13. Jim B in CO

    Jim B in CO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    1,043
    15
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    I bought a LWD .40 barrel for the G27 and I've been having numerous FTF issues with it. (Of course, I haven't had any problems with the OEM barrel - it's been 100% reliable). I was thinking the BB might solve the FTF issue. :dunno:
     
    #13 Jim B in CO, Nov 15, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2010
  14. HAMMERHEAD

    HAMMERHEAD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    3,444
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Your 10mm loads sounds like it should be low pressure unless you're using some super fast powder. Brass should go a long way.
    My old 2nd gen G-20 treats my brass just fine. I load to about 1,000 fps with 180's and 165's with SR 7625.

    .40 is not my game, so I'll stay on the side lines there.
     
  15. Boxerglocker

    Boxerglocker
    Expand Collapse
    Jacks #1 Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    6,143
    24
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Are you firing lead what bullet profile? The LWD is super tight, too tight in alot of cases. Are you case gauging with the actual barrel? A trip back to LWD with a few dummy rounds to have then open up the barrel a little could be in order.
     
  16. Jim B in CO

    Jim B in CO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    1,043
    15
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    No, I don't shoot any lead at all. I'd agree with the "too tight" assessment. I tried a few of the reloads in the LWD barrel (with the barrel out of the gun) and they fit fine. Most of the reloads fed (in actual use) into the the LWD barrel ok, but I'd guess there was a 5-10% FTF rate.
     
    #16 Jim B in CO, Nov 15, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2010
  17. WiskyT

    WiskyT
    Expand Collapse
    Malcontent

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    11,682
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Throw the LWD barrel off of a bridge. Every week we get a thread where some guiy has a problem with 40SW. After a few posts, it invariably comes out to be the LWD barrle they are using. If your stock barrel works, and your LWD barrel doesn't, why would you bother with the LWD barrel?
     
  18. BK63

    BK63
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    1,824
    0
    Location:
    CT
    I've reloaded 45 acp probably 20 to 30 times until it starts to split. I use the same batch until they start to split and then toss them in a bunch.
     
  19. GioaJack

    GioaJack
    Expand Collapse
    Conifer Jack

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    10,016
    1
    Location:
    Conifer, CO
    Let your butler do the loading and one of your ex-wives do the test firing... why worry about things you don't have too?


    Jack
     
  20. WiskyT

    WiskyT
    Expand Collapse
    Malcontent

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    11,682
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina