close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

recrown rifle barrel

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by Mongosafari, Mar 6, 2010.


  1. Mongosafari

    Mongosafari
    Expand Collapse
    El diablo verde

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    514
    0
    Location:
    currently stationed in Maine
    I got an AR15 upper in trade a few years ago with a little "ding" right on the muzzle crown. I saw this and planned to someday have it recrowned by a gunsmith. Accuracy suffers (I assume) because of the "ding".

    Brownells has a hand tool to cut an 11 degree crown in the muzzle. For not too much money.

    or

    Remove the barrel from the upper and ship it to a gunsmith with a lathe to do the job. I hate having parts laying around for a couple of weeks.

    I also have an older Westernfield 22 WMR that would probably benefit from a crown job too with the hand crowning tool.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. JimBianchi

    JimBianchi
    Expand Collapse
    Da Da
    CLM
    1. The Outpost Lounge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    6,254
    338
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I've recrowned a few barrels and when done correctly, it can seriously improve accuracy.

    I've seen the tool you mentioned and if I needed one, I'd buy it.

    I've used a variety of dremel tools and a low speed drill with lapping compound.

    The first one I did took three tries, but after that, I was good to go.

    I even did a video on recrowning an airgun barrel a few years ago. It's on Google Video under the search terms I love Airguns. Airgun barrels are much softer steel than firearms so they make it look easy in the video. I took some guff from gunsmiths for my techniques, but I can't argue with success.

    I did not do a video on a firearms barrel mostly because at the time I had very accurate rifles that did not need me fooling with them. I wish I still had a pro video camera, I have a second 1022 now that is not nearly as accurate as it should be and the crown looks imperfect.
     

  3. paddle007

    paddle007
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    92
    0
    Location:
    Southeast Louisiana
    I had an aftermarket 357SIG barrel with a ding. Long range accuracy was not a big concern so I made a simple tool. I brazed a round ball bearing to a steel rod. I tried it be hand but geez it was going to take a long time. Put it in a drill with lapping compound and had it done in ten minutes. May not be uniform enough for some but I can can't visually find a problem with it.
     
  4. faawrenchbndr

    faawrenchbndr
    Expand Collapse
    DirtyThirty fan
    CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    36,040
    398
    Location:
    Troy
  5. Mongosafari

    Mongosafari
    Expand Collapse
    El diablo verde

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    514
    0
    Location:
    currently stationed in Maine
    I'm thinking it is just larger than I want to use a brass lap and 600 grit compound to polish out.

    Thanks for the responces.

    I'll be getting the 11 degree cutter with interchangable brass pilots. I need to measure the 22 WMR to get the right pilot: .213" or .215"

    If I need it later add another caliber pilot. Just go slow and a little at a time. I can easily swap out the AR-15 barrel but if I can save two barrels for around a hundred bucks, I'm that far ahead.
     
  6. Andrewsky

    Andrewsky
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    3,564
    1
    Adco is pretty highly thought-of in the realm of AR-15 barrels.
     
  7. eisman

    eisman
    Expand Collapse
    ARGH!
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    2,579
    0
    Location:
    Moving Target
    I have used the Brownells cuters with good results. Make sure you use a good cutting oil with the tools, especially if you use power tools. Also, don't go too fast.
     
  8. Mongosafari

    Mongosafari
    Expand Collapse
    El diablo verde

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    514
    0
    Location:
    currently stationed in Maine
    I don't plan on using power tools for the cutting.

    Do you also use the brass lap/compound after cutting or just the 11 degree cutter and that's it?
     
  9. eisman

    eisman
    Expand Collapse
    ARGH!
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    2,579
    0
    Location:
    Moving Target
    Actually, you'll get better results using a battery powered drill than just doing it by hand. You can't keep the pressure constant through a full circle. But try it, you'll see what I mean. I always cut and then lap. Use a little Clover compound.
     
  10. Mongosafari

    Mongosafari
    Expand Collapse
    El diablo verde

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    514
    0
    Location:
    currently stationed in Maine
    That is what I was curious about. Both (cutting and lapping) need to be done for a complete crown job.

    I didn't phrase it correctly; the 11 degree cutter will be by hand and the brass/compound lapping would be using a small electric drill.

    Thank you very much for your response.