close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

recommend a file copy utility

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Green_Manelishi, Nov 28, 2010.


  1. Green_Manelishi

    Green_Manelishi
    Expand Collapse
    Knicker Knotter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    4,716
    0
    Location:
    On the edge but not quite over ...
    I need to copy a great number of files/folders from one drive to another. A backup will (probably) not work because it will preserve the root folder/file name and I want to copy the files/folders to a different folder name on the different drive. I hope that all made sense. Windows GUI copy will take too long. Any recommendations?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Dandapani

    Dandapani
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    8,213
    4
    Location:
    Gulf side Florida
    builtin command line xcopy? google it
     

  3. prism

    prism
    Expand Collapse
    more ammo

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    1,419
    8
    Location:
    Indiana
    backup and then rename the folder ?
     
  4. mgo

    mgo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    179
    1
    Robocopy is already on board Vista and Windows 7. It is wicked fast, but instructions are horribly geeky.

    Here's a batch file that I use:

    robocopy "D:\Documents" "E:\documents backup folder on the ultra bay drive" /mir

    Simply insert your own source and destination between the quotes and save as a .bat, instead of a text file. Right click the batch file and run as Admin.

    "/mir" tells the program to mirror the folders, and to delete files that do not exist on the destination.

    It automatically runs out of the command prompt. (cmd)
     
  5. JimmyN

    JimmyN
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    1,266
    7
    Location:
    Virginia
    You can get a GUI frontend for Robocopy at Microsoft Technet. Makes it much easier for those that don't care for CLI or batch files.

    I use Teracopy, I prefer it over Robocopy.
     
  6. Green_Manelishi

    Green_Manelishi
    Expand Collapse
    Knicker Knotter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    4,716
    0
    Location:
    On the edge but not quite over ...
    Thanks all. I downloaded Teracopy and it seems to work fine. Will also try out RoboCopy. It's times like these I wish my PC ran OpenVMS.
     
  7. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,952
    137
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    I am a Robocopy 'Geek' and have used it for WAN replication in the past... much better than MS's DFSR!

    BUT... I just found out about RichCopy. It's multiprocessor away, and a little faster than Robocopy.

    Here is a nice article on RichCopy

    Working great for me under Windows 7... Might be worth a look. Launches and closes from a command line too!

    HTH...