close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Recoil Spring

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Boneyard1949, Aug 9, 2012.

1. Boneyard1949

Boneyard1949

Took the slide off for cleaning and the recoil spring just fell out! I'm new to Glock but love this 21. I'm used to 1911's and the spring being under tension.
    When I put it back together the rod sits in the slot but under no tension. Seems to work fine. Is this normal?

New to glock and the forum great place.

2. Ronbars

Ronbars

When you reassemble the slide, make sure the end of the recoil spring assembly is seated down in the lower, semi-circular notch and not the upper horizontal notch. The first time the slide cycles, the recoil spring assembly will move to the horizontal notch, but it must be replaced in the semi-circular cutout for reassembly.

Since the horizontal notch is a bit further back than the semi-circular one, there will be less spring tension when it's in this position so I suppose it's possible that it would just fall out, though I've never had that happen.

Photos from another thread for comparison are below. The upper photo shows the end of the RSA in the correct position for reassembly, the lower shows the RSA in position after the slide is cycled:

[​IMG][​IMG]

3. ghostrider88

ghostrider88

Does not sound correct, captured or uncaptured there should be some tension on the spring

4. Boneyard1949

Boneyard1949

Thanks for the quick reply. When I put it back together I put it back like the top photo. I was just surprised when it fell out. If I don't hold the slide spring up it dosent want to reassemble. The rod and spring sag being held in by the rod guide.

5. TxGlock9

TxGlock9

Get a new spring. It shouldn't just fall out. There should be some tension put on the spring so it won't fall out during assembly/disassembly.

6. Butch

Butch RetiredDinosaur Millennium Member CLM