close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

RAID setups??

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by RaiderRodney, Jun 9, 2005.


  1. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ok I am pretty much up to date on things...except for RAID configurations. I am thinking of upgrading and wanted to get some facts about RAID. Would someone care to tell me the different setups, pros, cons, etc. Anf in their opinion what setup would be best for me...which would primarily be gaming.

    thanks a bunch :)
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. prism

    prism
    Expand Collapse
    more ammo

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    1,419
    8
    Location:
    Indiana
  3. LittleLebowski

    LittleLebowski
    Expand Collapse
    Urban Achiever!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    517
    3
    Location:
    Northern VA (WY native)
    If you're using IDE, a switch to SATA would be better than RAID. Personally, if you're using a decent disk setup, I wouldn't worry about it. Worry more about your video card.
     
  4. grantglock

    grantglock
    Expand Collapse
    /dev/null

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    219
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    SATA and RAID are two different things
     
  5. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Unfortunately I will be staying with my old HD's :( Doesn't like it will matter on RAID...the motherboard I am getting doesn't seem to support it that I can find anyway. It is the ASUS P5P800
     
  6. pyblood

    pyblood
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    499
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Be careful which controller card you choose.The one above looks to be an ultra ATA 133 IDE controller card not an IDE RAID controller card.Make sure it is a RAID controller if that's what you want.
     
  8. pyblood

    pyblood
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    499
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Thanks for catching my error Washington,D.C. I have edited the post.
     
  9. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    My P4C800-E Deluxe has RAID capability for both IDE and SATA.

    I'm using two WD's right now as one disk in RAID 0.

    I wonder why the P5P800 does not have that functionality?

    Apparently this MOBO is a large step down from mine, with its 865 chipset and non-R Southbridge chip.

    Personally, I'd pass.

    If you will do much gaming, consider the AMD SKT 939 boards from Asus, such as the excellent NForce-chipped A8N-SLI and a 64-bit CPU. The 3500+ is really nice; get the fastest one you can afford so it takes longer to become obsolete.

    If you are dead-set on going with a LGA775 CPU, then the P5AD2 Deluxe is good if you want to try the newer DDR2 RAM...though personal experience has shown that the P5GD1 is just as good.

    Myself, I am sticking with the SKT 478 or SKT 939 form factors and the AGP video slots for the time being. With P4 CPU's in the SKT 478 being so cheap these days it makes good sense to take advantage of them.

    And remember that the new PCIe 16X slot has no advantage over the AGP 8X slot whatsoever. For now, that's just marketing, until the 512MB/512-bit $1000 vid cards arrive and you get one.

    I run both the Asus P4P800 (GF's; 2.4C proc) and the P4C800-E Deluxe (my sig rig; 3.0E) at my home. Both are excellent MOBOs; BTW, the added features offered by the P4C800 are worth the extra $$$ only if you plan on using them. If not, the P4P800 is your best bet.

    So, in short:

    Overclocking and gaming: AMD.

    Video/audio editing and multitasking with gaming occasionally: Pentium.

    That's the best way to judge what you need.

    Good luck.
     
  10. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Thanks for the suggestions everyone.

    Fast, not dead set on anything other than having to stick with an AGP slot for my X800Pro for now.

    Why the AMD recommendation for gaming and overclocking though? I am nervous of AMD's because this will be my first build and it is well known that Intel simply has better compatability in most cases. But, if it would suit me better I will be willing to try them ;)

    So, if I stay with AGP I should go with socket 478. Is there any performace differences with socket types? I am wanting a level 2 cache of 2mb around 3.0 ghz, 800fsb I think. I have seen several Oc'in these to 3.7 with stock cooling (which I would not do, too much money to fry).

    Decisions, decisions...I am going to newegg now to look some more ;f
     
  11. pyblood

    pyblood
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    499
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    We recommend AMD for gaming, because they are better/just as good and more inexpensive. AMD CPUs also overclock pretty well. The Socket 939 Athlon 64s are really good performers.

    I haven’t heard of any recent compatibility issues with AMD. As a matter of fact, a lot of companies are starting to sway toward AMD. AMD has really proven itself over the years.

    I am not real sure about a performance difference between 2 two sockets. I can remember when socket 775 first came out, they benchmarked it against 478, and 478 usually came out on top. Since then, they have release several new chipsets and CPUs and they no longer compare the results to socket 478.

    One of the advantages of 775 is that you can get Windows 64 is that impresses you at all. I would not recommend DDR2 because it’s more expensive and has higher latencies. It does operate at higher frequencies though.

    Take a look at this link. It’s from Tom’s hardware guide. You can select 2 processors and compare their performance at various benchmarks.
    http://www23.tomshardware.com/index.html
     
  12. LittleLebowski

    LittleLebowski
    Expand Collapse
    Urban Achiever!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    517
    3
    Location:
    Northern VA (WY native)
    "SATA and RAID are two different things"

    I nver said they weren't. If you reread my post I said that a move to SATA drives would probably offer more performance increase than a move to RAID IDE.

    Also, beware of Windows 64bit. There are lots of issues with it right now.
     
  13. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    No worries on windows 64...heck they haven't got xp fixed yet :) But, wouldn't be bad to have the hardware if I did decide down the road.

    Thanks for the link on comparing processors I will check it out;)
     
  14. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Holy crap even the athlon 2800 ($121 at newegg) beat out the pentium 630 ($230 at newegg) in fps ;P and that was with the 630 using ddr2 memory and the amd with ddr400 ;g

    Hmm...I better rethink this a bit ;)

    Now I'm leaning towards this ;f

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813131498

    and this:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103464

    The crucial balistix memory I wanted will even be cheaper...
    One thing that scares me is crucial says I can use PC4000 memory in that board...and it says PC1600, PC2100, PC2700, and PC3200???
     
  15. pyblood

    pyblood
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    499
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I would recommend purchasing a socket 939 board and processor. The 3700+ is going to be the fastest 754 CPU that AMD is going to produce. The socket 939 will give you more upgradeability. I would recommend the 3500+ instead of the 3700+. You probably won’t see a different between a 3700+ and a 3500+ even though it has twice as much L2 cache and 200 MHz faster. Plus the 3500+ is a little cheaper than the 3700+. Take a look at the new Venice core 939 CPUs. The can operate at lower voltages, so you may get little more from overclocking.

    If it were me, I would probably buy a 3200+ or a 3000+ and a good cooler (you are probably going to buy one anyways). I would try to overclock it to at least a 3500+.

    The PC4000 memory will work on that board. It will run at PC3200 speeds (200 MHz) until you start overclocking. It is guaranteed to run at 250 MHz, so that is how it gets its PC4000 rating.
     
  16. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Pyblood speaks truth, young grasshopper!

    AMD makes good procs, but Intel doesn't want you to know that!

    As I said, for a mulitmedia machine that will need to do several things simultaneously, get a Pentium.

    If you want a screaming gaming rig, look at the Socket 939 Athlon 64's....but skip the 64-bit XP for now.

    Way too many driver problems right now for it to be useful.

    And trust me when I say that avoiding the SKT 754 Athlons is wise...that is an obsolete form factor. I use 'em only for workstations and email boxes.

    Good luck!

    PS. PC3200 is really all you need. Only invest in the PC4000, 4500 or PC5000 RAM if you are going to OC that CPU to the max.
     
  17. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    OK thanks for all the help and suggestions everyone. I am glad I got educated a little on AMD's ;f

    Here are my updated plans:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813131510

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103539

    MSI has a NVIDIA nForce3 Ultra motherboard I like too....so not set on that, but I do like the 1mb cache on the athlon 3700 san diego ;)

    Trying to decide on a good case and PS now. I am limited to 19" high and will probably want a 450W PS.

    Then the hard part...talking the better half into letting me get this stuff ;g
     
  18. pyblood

    pyblood
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    499
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I don't think that the extra 512kb of cache will make that big of a difference in performance. I would coose the 3500+ and save the extra $.

    For some reason, I like the NVIDIA chipset better than the VIA chipset. Unfortunately ASUS doesn’t make an NVIDIA based 939 board, so my 1st choice would be the MSI board, with Gigabyte as a 2nd option.

    Like I have said before, I would choose a reputable PS company like Antec, Thermaltake, and Cooler Master.

    Good luck with the better half. You may have to buy her something in order to butter up to her.
     
  19. stooxie

    stooxie
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    1,069
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Not sure anything here answered your question.

    RAID setups can help you getter speed and/or reliability from a bunch of cheap disks.

    The question for you is, what are you trying to do? Survive a drive failure? Get better speed? What?

    The downsides to RAID are pretty consistent: RAID hardware costs money and, if you do it with software, take CPU cycles. With every RAID setup except striping you lose raw storage space. With pure striping you are now more vulnerable to drive loss.

    -Stooxie
     
  20. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yeah, I kinda got off onto my upgrade plans :) I would like to increase performance and protect against drive failure as well. I will be using my old IDE Hd's as well...no sata yet for me as I have to much invested.

    What kind of RAID would you suggest for my situation?