close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Question about squib!

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Kwesi, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. Kwesi

    Kwesi

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    TX
    Was shooting a few nights ago and had gone thru about 100 rounds of 10mm. I was firing my CA89-10 in full auto (in case the gun matters, I doubt it). I was going to do one more mag when the bolt would not close. When I got home I decided to measure the OAL of the rounds in the final mag thinking maybe they were the cause. To my surprise this is what I found:

    1.224, 1.228, 1.242, 1.251,1.260, 1.261,,1.261,1.262, 1.265 ( My Redding sizing die may have gotten loose; it's tight now )

    The rounds over 1.260 and under 1.240 were the surprise. I got home and started to check all my loaded rounds and found some that were over 1.260 so I reseated them to 1.255. I loaded those but still the bolt would not close.

    When I take her apart I find a squib! The bullet (180 FMJ ) was fortunately NOT in the barrel! It was right where it would be when chambered.

    I examined all the brass and found two cases that had vertical splits. I was very fortunate that the last round of the prior mag was the squib.

    I look into every case for powder drop so I am very concerned how this occured. Any way for this to occur with the proper powder level?

    Help!
     
  2. PhantomF4E

    PhantomF4E

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Florida
    I guess that is why I'm anal about my reloads. I mic every round before it goes in the box for storage. I don't know why after 30+ years of reloading I still treat it like brain surgery. Guess it's all about the precision. That engineer thing I guess. Over design, over build , over test.......... Yeah I can hear the flatlander jokes a comin'
    Just a thought if you had a round with a big enough vertical split a good portion of the expanding gas may have escaped and not allowed enough pressure to force the projectile in to the barrel. Did you recover any of the spent brass ?
     

  3. Kwesi

    Kwesi

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    TX
    I hear ya! I was wondering if the vertical split ( 3/4" ) would allow the gas to escape. I have a brass catcher on this gun so I have all the brass.
     
  4. Three-Five-Seven

    Three-Five-Seven Señor Mombo Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 1999
    Messages:
    2,729
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Great Southwest
    Your wife came in the loading room and interrupted you at some point.
     
  5. Zombie Steve

    Zombie Steve Decap Pin Killa

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    18,083
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Old Colorado City
    Just start getting in the habit of checking the OAL of every 10th round you make. Glad you didn't blow'd yerself up.
     
  6. Kwesi

    Kwesi

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    TX
    Is it the opinion of the board that a squib is only caused by either NO powder of very little powder? You probably hear this all the time but I really do pay attention and look into every case for powder.

    Some time ago, prior to when these were loaded, I purchased the Press Monitor to avoid this situation.
     
  7. Zombie Steve

    Zombie Steve Decap Pin Killa

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    18,083
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Old Colorado City
    Generally, it's no powder. The primer is strong enough to get the bullet started down the barrel, but not enough to get it out.

    It could be very little powder, or somehow contaminated.
     
  8. PCJim

    PCJim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    FL
    When it comes to checking the powder, I rely upon my eyes. This past weekend, I purchased and rigged a flexible shaft LED light from HF just for this specific purpose - to better see the powder charge in the .223 case.

    I wouldn't feel comfortable relying on an electronic monitor, but that's just me..
     
  9. Steve Koski

    Steve Koski Got Insurance? Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 1999
    Messages:
    7,059
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Montanuh
    Kwesi,

    Several things are going on:

    1) You loaded a round without any powder. You might think you checked every case, but you didn't.

    2a) You may be using brass that came from the FBI, fired in their oversize chabered weapon. This causes vertical case splits in some of the cases. Sometimes the case won't split, but it will split when you size it the next time. So, even if you inspect the cases and toss the splitters, you get a few splitters on the next sizing. If the brass survives this next sizing, it'll probably last forever if you fire it in normal size chambers.

    This is REALLY obvious when you're working the press, it's like sizing a sized case, almost no resistance.

    2b) the oversized chamber in your weapon is leading to the split cases. They are splitting when you fire.

    3) Something is goofy with your seating die walking on you. I'm not sure what the problem is, but there is some problem that needs to be identified and corrected.

    Take care,

    Koski
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
  10. Kwesi

    Kwesi

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    TX
    Jim: The Press Monitor is my "back up" as I will still look into EVERY case. Didn't mean to suggest it was the end all.
     
  11. Kwesi

    Kwesi

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    TX
    Koski:

    1. I guess you are right on missing the powder.
    2. all my brass was either purchased new from Starline or is Starline that Double Tap factory was loaded in. No FBI stuff
    3. I suspect the chamber in my MP5-10mm Clone has a oversized chamber
    4. My gusess is that I did not have the resizing die locked - it is now!