close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Question about fitting a part

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by HotRoderX, Jun 2, 2011.


  1. HotRoderX

    HotRoderX
    Expand Collapse
    Gen4 BETATester

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    5,297
    0
    I got a new recoil spring plug for my RIA Tactical because I wasn't to found of the open design that comes standard. Will I got a Cylinders and Slides GI plug

    http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=466020

    will it is twice as long as my standard plug. So it does not fit. My question is can I cut the Cylinders and Slide plug to fit? Will this cause any problems. I really like the design and the quality is nice. Just to long here a picture of what I am talking about. Thanks guys I know this is more then likely a dumb question. Thanks guys its been one of them days where nothings right.

    [​IMG]
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. TxGun

    TxGun
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    2,697
    478
    Location:
    Family ranch in Texas
    You do understand that there are different plug lengths depending upon whether your gun is a Government model, Commander, etc., right?
     

    #2 TxGun, Jun 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  3. HotRoderX

    HotRoderX
    Expand Collapse
    Gen4 BETATester

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    5,297
    0

    No I did not I am really new to all this and I thought 99% of Commander and Government parts where the same. I know officer is completely different. I know the Commander and Government have different barrel lengths. So I figured Guide rods and parts like that where different but the springs and frame parts would be the same.
     
  4. Quack

    Quack
    Expand Collapse
    Rent this space

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    9,987
    5
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    IIRC, the RIA Compact is also a 3.5" gun, so the Commander (4.25") plug will not work either.
     
  5. HotRoderX

    HotRoderX
    Expand Collapse
    Gen4 BETATester

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    5,297
    0

    So what would you use if you needed to replace it? Our would you have to get parts directly from RIA
     
  6. Quack

    Quack
    Expand Collapse
    Rent this space

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    9,987
    5
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    call RIA.
     
  7. HotRoderX

    HotRoderX
    Expand Collapse
    Gen4 BETATester

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    5,297
    0
    Cool there any other parts that are unchangeble I should know about?
     
  8. lsbbigdog

    lsbbigdog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    678
    0
    Most officer models use a reverse plug.
     
  9. GeorgiaRedfish

    GeorgiaRedfish
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    3,819
    0
    Location:
    Right behind you...
    Every RIA size except the Gov't models use a reverse plug. I am assuming he has gov't
     
  10. HotRoderX

    HotRoderX
    Expand Collapse
    Gen4 BETATester

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    5,297
    0
  11. Quack

    Quack
    Expand Collapse
    Rent this space

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    9,987
    5
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    stock plug is too small for a gov't
     
  12. Quack

    Quack
    Expand Collapse
    Rent this space

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    9,987
    5
    Location:
    NE Ohio
  13. HotRoderX

    HotRoderX
    Expand Collapse
    Gen4 BETATester

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    5,297
    0

    Feeling pretty stupid right now. I guess only way one will learn thought is to ask questions I appreciate the help so far.
     
  14. Nickpisp

    Nickpisp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    1,260
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I'm confused now. So it's a Govt. with a short plug and the long Govt. plug won't fit? :dunno:
     
  15. GeorgiaRedfish

    GeorgiaRedfish
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    3,819
    0
    Location:
    Right behind you...
    This is confusing me too. I guess RIA uses an oddball?
     
  16. CMG

    CMG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    3,549
    12
    Location:
    Don't Mess with Texas
    If your barrel measures 5" from the back of the ejection port to the muzzle, it is a Gov't Model and the new plug you have should work fine.
     
  17. HotRoderX

    HotRoderX
    Expand Collapse
    Gen4 BETATester

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    5,297
    0

    I measured it and its 5inch's. It has a full size guide rod. But the plug diffently does not fit. I even cut the plug thinking it was to long. When the gun is open or being cocked the guide rod goes thought the front of the plug. I am gonna take some pictures.

    I thought all 1911's feel into the 3 basic categories

    1911 Government
    1911 Commander
    and
    1911 Officer
     
    #17 HotRoderX, Jun 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  18. Quack

    Quack
    Expand Collapse
    Rent this space

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    9,987
    5
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Yours isn't a hybrid, its a govt
     
  19. HotRoderX

    HotRoderX
    Expand Collapse
    Gen4 BETATester

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    5,297
    0
    What would I have to change out on the gun to get it to except a standard govt recoil spring plug? Would it be just a new guide rod, or barrel? sorry to ask all these questions.
     
  20. limbkiller

    limbkiller
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    896
    1
    Location:
    ky
    So what you're saying is you have a full length guide rod with a standard plug. That won't work.