close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Processor Upgrade

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by noneyet, Dec 19, 2004.


  1. noneyet

    noneyet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    76
    0
    Location:
    I don't know
    Ok so thanks to Washington D.C. I have sucessfully killed the viruses on my laptop, I think, so thanks for the help my friend. On to my next question, I have an emachines desktop running a 766ghz intell celeron processor and 191MB ram, and I want to install a DVD burner in it. In youralls expert opinion is this fast enough? I don't want to do anything else with it except to burn DVDs (to back up data of course), so I don't care if it will be slow. Also would it be worth upgrading the processor, and is that even possible. Thanks for you help already.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    It should be enough to burn DVD's.I think you might be able to upgrade to 1.4 Ghz celeron for about $50 if your Celeron is an FC-PGA-2 but you very likely have a slot 1 Celeron.If it is a slot one it can't be upgraded much and isn't worth the trouble.I wouldn't spend the money on a faster Celeron.Some more memory would be better than a faster a processeor.
     

  3. noneyet

    noneyet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    76
    0
    Location:
    I don't know
    Thanks for your help my friend, thats exactly the kind of informaion I was looking for.:)
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I was just looking at a 16X TDK DVD RW.It's a $170 dual layer one.It says minimum requirements are a Pentium III 800 Mhz.I haven't seen this on any others.Mininum ram is 128mb.
     
  5. noneyet

    noneyet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    76
    0
    Location:
    I don't know
  6. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  8. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  9. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Okay I found the requirements.It might not work with your PC.Requirements-Pentium III 800 Mhz or AMD Athlon 800 Mhz or faster for video/menu authoring.Memory must be at least 256 mb,512 mb recomended.Software requires 400 Mb hard disks space.For burning capture from Digital Video a Pentium 4 1.8 Ghz or Athlon 1.7 Ghz is required.5.0 gb hard disk space for video capture and 5.0 gb disk space required for DVD burning.10 gb required for dual layer.
     
  10. noneyet

    noneyet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    76
    0
    Location:
    I don't know
    man thanks for all the information, but it looks like it wont work, I dont meet any of those requriments. I only have a 191MB of ram and can only upgrade to 256 and a 766mhz celeron processor, looks like I will have to keep shoping.
     
  11. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    See if you can check the older slower DVD burners.Dual layer media is too expensive and doesn't save anything but a bit of space.The blank disks are 5 times the price of single sided DVD's.I have an older PC with a Pentium III 733 Mhz.It's DVD burner is old but works fine.It's has 256 mb of memory.The 4x,8x and 12x burners can be had for about $50 these days.A really nice one might be $80.