close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

problems with new monitor...

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ashley, Dec 25, 2005.


  1. ashley

    ashley
    Expand Collapse
    anti roast beef

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    43
    0
    Location:
    MI
    i just got a dell E176FP monitor for christmas and it's really irritating me. for some reason the screen is very jittery. i've tried changing the refresh rate, the resolution, uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers, different power sorces, etc. it works fine on our computer upstairs (windows 98 upstairs, i'm running windows xp).

    what else can i try? i called dell tech support but since it's not the actual monitor, and i because i'm using a gateway desktop, they won't help. i can't call gateway because i no longer have access to their tech support. i've also searched the dell forums and tried everything there.

    i'm assuming two things. either the breaker i'm on in my room sucks and there some interference or my computer just doesn't like this monitor for some reason.

    what else can i try?



    - ashley
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Froggy_131

    Froggy_131
    Expand Collapse
    Bubblehead

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    70
    0
    Unshielded speakers can do that to a monitor - happened to me. I just had to relocate the speakers away from the monitor.

     

  3. ashley

    ashley
    Expand Collapse
    anti roast beef

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    43
    0
    Location:
    MI
    han't thought of that but i just unplugged them and no luck. the tv is unplugged too.

    - ashley
     
  4. nognig

    nognig
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    111
    0
    Is it a LCD monitor (flat screen) or a CRT (regular old tube) monitor?

    If it's a regular old monitor, you might want to move it to a new location and try it again.

    A friend had the same problem and it turned out that on the other side of the wall from his monitor was a panel of circuit breakers. The 60 Hz frequency of the power lines caused a weird jittery, waving effect on the screen.

    If it's LCD, then I've go no freakin' idea what could cause that.

    NN
     
  5. nognig

    nognig
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    111
    0
    You might want to try moving them. It's the permanent magnet in the speakers that causes the screen to mess up, so unplugging won't fix it. I've never seen a speaker cause a screen to "jitter" usually it just messes up the colors.

    NN
     
  6. funbob

    funbob
    Expand Collapse
    do a lil' dance

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    271
    0
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    Anything else near it that could be generating noise? Other common culprits are desk fans, GSM cell phones, fluorescent lights, high draw appliances on the same circuit, such as microwaves and fridges, can also cause problems. Assuming you're not using the integrated video, try swapping video cards to rule that out. Have you tried using the monitor from the upstairs computer? Does it do that same thing?
     
  7. ashley

    ashley
    Expand Collapse
    anti roast beef

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    43
    0
    Location:
    MI
    it's an LCD.

    my cell phone isn't the culprit. there are some flourescent lights, will i actually have to take them out? i've tried just turning them off.

    i just moved the speakers and tv about 10 feet away, still nothing. how far should i be moving these things? this is insane.

    the fridge is upstairs, on the same circut, and the washer and dry are about 15-18 feet away on a completely different circut.

    ohh and for whatever reason it gets worse when i actually use my mouse.

    - ashley
     
  8. funbob

    funbob
    Expand Collapse
    do a lil' dance

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    271
    0
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    oh, if it's an LCD, than none of that applies. They aren't affected by RF noise the way CRT's are. We just made you move a bunch of stuff for nothing ;f. I have no clue what could be causing the problem. My guess is some sort of problem with the video hardware in that computer.
     
  9. ashley

    ashley
    Expand Collapse
    anti roast beef

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    43
    0
    Location:
    MI
    i haven't tried switching video cards, i have no idea where they are located and what i would have to do to get my stepdads to work on my computer.

    i had a CRT and had no problems with it.

    - ashley
     
  10. ashley

    ashley
    Expand Collapse
    anti roast beef

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    43
    0
    Location:
    MI

    lol, okay.

    - ashley
     
  11. funbob

    funbob
    Expand Collapse
    do a lil' dance

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    271
    0
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    What are the model numbers of the computers in question?
     
  12. ashley

    ashley
    Expand Collapse
    anti roast beef

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    43
    0
    Location:
    MI
    the computer is from gateway. i'm not sure exactly what you are looking for but the sticker on the back says ATXSTF FED performance 800. i got it in 2000 and there's been a lot of changes to it but i've never touched the video card. the monitor is a dell E176FP.

    - ashley
     
  13. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    What version of Windows?98?2000?ME?XP?
     
  14. ashley

    ashley
    Expand Collapse
    anti roast beef

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    43
    0
    Location:
    MI
    ohh i'm running xp and upstairs where the thing works were running 98.

    - ashley
     
  15. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    That model PC has the Intel (r) 82815 Graphics Controller unless a seperate video card came with it.
     
  16. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Okay so the problem is with Windows XP?Home or Pro?Should be fairly easy to sort out now.
     
  17. ashley

    ashley
    Expand Collapse
    anti roast beef

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    43
    0
    Location:
    MI
    i have no idea if a seperate video card came with it but when i check the display that's what it says (Intel (r) 82815 Graphics Controller).

    - ashley
     
  18. ashley

    ashley
    Expand Collapse
    anti roast beef

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    43
    0
    Location:
    MI
    home.


    - ashley
     
  19. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  20. funbob

    funbob
    Expand Collapse
    do a lil' dance

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    271
    0
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    Does the monitor plug directly into the back of the computer or does it plug in towards the bottom where the expansion cards would go? My research indicates this line of PC's was available with a TNT2 M64 video card, which was not a particularly good card, even back in its day. Flickering was not an uncommon problem with this card and I'm currently looking for fixes.