close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Prepping: Knowledge vs. Stuff

Discussion in 'Survival/Preparedness Forum' started by Bolster, Jan 27, 2012.

1. Bolster

Bolster Not Ready Yet!

Jul 23, 2011
    State of Stupidity
    So I'm relatively new to prepping, and when I first started, I thought it was about laying up stuff: food, fuel, gear. During the first year it was all about buying.

The longer I hang out on this forum, the more I think prepping is about acquiring skills, about learning. How to grow food, how to shoot straight, how to organize your group or neighbors.

What is prepping to you? obviously it's both, but what do you put more emphasis on, buying more stuff, or learning more skills?

If your answer is learning, what's your short list of "must learn now" skills?

Last edited: Jan 27, 2012
  2. I have to learn how to use this dam Ham radio. lol

3. G29Reload

G29Reload Tread Lightly

Sep 28, 2009
    Both knowledge and gear are important.

Yes, knowledge trumps gear mostly, but lets face it:

I might figger out how to light a fire with bowsaw, but its just so much simpler to have matches. I don't need a fire tomorrow, I need it now!

Will I survive if I can hold out to to getting the bow saw thing rolling? Maybe. But damn, a cup of coffee on this here gas stove just seems right! Right NOW!

Speed is where equipment rules. Gotta have stuff. Not havin stuff sucks.

4. Lone Kimono

Lone Kimono

Jul 15, 2009
    I've started to do that with books in general. Most of the world is going to be out of luck when their Kindles and Google stop working.

5. Bolster