close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Preferred Anti-Spyware??

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Tennessee Slim, Oct 28, 2004.


  1. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    4,413
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    I recently switched to XoftSpy, which seems to work well enough, but it has some operational drawbacks. What are you using, and are you satisfied with it?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Tvov

    Tvov
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2000
    4,456
    308
    Location:
    CT,USA
    We've been using AdAware for awhile now, and it seems to work great. We had Spybot for awhile, but it consistently missed stuff that the AdAware would catch, so I deleted it. I just started using SpySweeper, and so far it seems to work well, finding everything that AdAware finds. It is interesting to run a couple different programs to see what one missed and the other finds.

    Both this programs are easy to use.
     

  3. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Please read the sticky at the top of this forum. The programs they recommend perform just as well or better than paid ones.
     
  4. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    4,413
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    Dayum! You'd think I just fell off the turnip truck, wouldn't you?? ;9
     
  5. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Well, Slim, I use BOTH Spybot 1.3 and Ad-Aware.

    That way, you get a Second Opinion each time you scan, and unlike antivirus apps, there is no problem with having both of these apps installed simultaneously on your PC.

    Just use one first, then scan with the other; don't run both scanners at the same time!

    And, yeah, there is some good reference material in the sticky!

    Good luck,

    FastVFR
     
  6. 0100010

    0100010
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    562
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    After updating and running Spybot and Ad-aware scans, I do the free scan at http://www.pestpatrol.com - it will list explicitly whats (still) on your box, files, cookies, registry entries. Then I take a few minutes to clean it up manually.
     
  7. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    all of my problems went away when i installed the adware defense program called "linux".
     
  8. Luke77

    Luke77
    Expand Collapse
    "Get Some!"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    57
    2
    Location:
    Washington
    I use Ad-Aware SE, spybot, hijackthis, and CWShredder. That seems to cover just about everything.
     
  9. hile

    hile
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    248
    0
    Location:
    Bucks County
    Haha.

    Do one better; if you must use x86 hardware (and it's not on the Solaris HCL), use one of the BSD's so that you actually have a stable ABI. Me, I just don't use x86 hardware.
     
  10. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    4,413
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    Me, I gotta straddle the fence. I do find Windblows useful for some purposes.

    A couple of years ago I was negotiating with a guy in San Antonio for his quad Ross processors for my Sparc 20. He threw in a HyperSparc 30 with 1GB of RAM and twin 9GB HDDs as boot!! I wasn't familiar with the HS30 but I bit anyway. When I got it I did some investigating and found out it sold new in 1998 for $23,000. And I got it free.

    So now I have two quad-CPU SPARC boxes with a total investment of $700. Not everything resulting from the Dot-Com collapse was bad. ;)
     
  11. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    4,413
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    ;g



    So far I've run XoftSpy, Spyware Blaster, Ad-Aware and SpyBot. Each one of them has found bitzen pieces that the other(s) missed.

    Like I said. ;g
     
  12. greenlead

    greenlead
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    326
    0
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    I use linux, personally. Also, when I am running in Windows mode, I am careful what I allow on my system, it is unstable enough already. :)
     
  13. hile

    hile
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    248
    0
    Location:
    Bucks County
    sweet!!!!! too bad those are sun4m
     
  14. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    4,413
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    Truth. Now I'm Jonesing for a 64-bit SPARC box. Maybe I'll build a 'server room' around an E-3500. ;)
     
  15. 10 Ring Tao

    10 Ring Tao
    Expand Collapse
    Red White Blue

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    860
    0
    Location:
    Southeast Michigan
    AdAware, but make sure you have SE, it catches an incredible amount that 6.0 missed.
     
  16. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    4,413
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    I loaded AdAware SE Pro, updated it, ran it, then immediately after loaded and ran SpyBot. Spybot still found a hatfull of crap. :steamed:
     
  17. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    AdAware and Spybot find a few different things.CCleaner also finds some spyware aswell as cleaning hidden files.When I use CCleaner with Spybot, AdAware doesn't find anything so there is some overlap.CCleaner is fast.It might not get the heavy stuff or update but it's a great program.
     
  18. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Did you get the Spybot updates too?
     
  19. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I just installed the beta version of the next Spybot.It's an unauthorized release but it searches for the same things as the current release version.It is faster.It scans quickly.
     
  20. Jlarue

    Jlarue
    Expand Collapse
    GOOO SOONERS!!!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    11
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    Although it is not free you should check out SpyWare stormer. I have used adaware and spot bot for a long time, and decided to try a pay for use title to see if it was anymore better. I ran spybot and then adaware and then stormer. Stormer found a lot of stuff that the other 2 had missed so now I stick to just stormer.