close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Power Surge through Satellite Coaxial Cable

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Nick.45, Oct 11, 2013.


  1. Nick.45

    Nick.45
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    144
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    So like the title says, took a power surge during a storm that came in through the satellite Coax. It took out both my Directv receivers, 37in Vizio LCD TV, my PS3 no longer puts any signal to the TV although it still powers on and off, and the HDMI ports on another TV. I am trying to see if there is a fix for the blown HDMI Ports on the one working TV. It is an HP 32in, model number is LC3260N. Any help is appreciated.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    2,090
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    easiest fix? call your insurance company and see if you have coverage.

    most consumer electronics these days aren't very easy or economical to repair (sans non-laptop computers maybe)..

    the tricky thing with electrical surges is that they can affect items in all sorts of unpredictable ways and may not necessarily manifest a problem immediately.
     

  3. boomhower

    boomhower
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    3,323
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I had the same thing happen, sucks. I got off with one TV, a DVD player, and a DirecTV DVR. Use your DirecTV insurance but the rest just pay out of pocket. A few electronics is not worth filing a claim on your home.
     
  4. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,926
    111
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    Just got Charter cable established again...

    The *FIRST* thing the tech did was undo the CATV feed from the surge protector and take it direct to the Charter cable box.

    So I said "Charter insuring my equipment now? What will y'all do if a lightning strike takes out my equipment???"

    Tech proceeds to tell me their equipment is grounded - and that nothing could possibly happen.

    THE NEXT story was about a lady he was installing who caught a surge while he was working on the system and smoked the TV as he watched.

    He left, I fixed it the right way... :cool:

    I get enough Koolaid in my life, don't need the Charter Koolaid too...
    :rofl:
     
  5. W4CNG

    W4CNG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    816
    0
    Location:
    In the Gun Room
    My Direct TV cable from the dish has a surge protector where it enters the house and is tied to an 8 foot ground rod just below it. Not sure about the cable boxes power cords but my Direct TV receivers have two pin plugs and that means there is no ground on the box. If a surge were to come in the next place it stops is the TV which also has a 2 pin plug. I also have a whole house AC Surge protector on the main electrical panel in the terrace level which is tied to another 8 foot ground rod buried in the terrace level floor below the panel. Having worked in "Cellular World" on Cell Sites that have everything Protected, I made sure my home was protected as well.
     
  6. Atlas

    Atlas
    Expand Collapse
    transmogrifier

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    12,512
    10
    Location:
    north of the equator
    At my sister's house I installed her cable broadband modem in a weathertight junction-box outside, with a cat5-to-fiber converter.

    Only that optical fiber enters the house.
    Lightning cannot travel on a plastic optical fiber.
    A lightning surge can only smoke the modem and cat-to-fiber converter in the outside box, both of which are cheap.

    Don't know how TV cable from a dish can be easily converted to fiber-optic, but there's probably a way.


    Surge protectors are better than nothing, but they won't even slow down a really nasty surge.
     
  7. fwm

    fwm
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    2,611
    19
    Location:
    Near Central US
    A few years ago I had an IBM PC (1980 or so) with a 30' mouse cord on it strung across my living room. My girlfriend came over and I answered the door just as a cloud to cloud lightning bolt went over the top of my house parallel to my mouse cord. It nearly knocked my girlfriend down as she stepped in the door. I heard my computer sizzle.

    The insurance tech responder said it was the first computer he had ever certified as 'struck' by lightning and gave me 'new' price money for it.

    He said every electronic circuit and chip was fried. And it wasn't even a strike, it was an induced current through the mouse cord, which was also fried.

    Don't even attempt to fix your stuff, even if it can be made to work, there will still be unknown damage that will come back to haunt you. Lightning is mean stuff.
     
    #7 fwm, Oct 29, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2013
  8. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai
    Expand Collapse
    Lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    23,961
    492
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    Atlas, would you mind sharing the details of the parts and where you got them? Sounds like a real good idea.
     
  9. Obi Wan

    Obi Wan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    2,111
    15
    Location:
    'Round the bend...
    The tech disconnected mine also. Guess I might just have to re-run the cables like you did. :wavey:

    x2, please.
     
  10. Atlas

    Atlas
    Expand Collapse
    transmogrifier

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    12,512
    10
    Location:
    north of the equator
    Happy to help..
    PM on the way later tonight.
     
  11. racer11

    racer11
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    2,359
    67
    Location:
    Near the Kansas Speedway
    Same for me Atlas,,,,if you don't mind thanks
     
  12. Obi Wan

    Obi Wan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    2,111
    15
    Location:
    'Round the bend...
    Atlas, would greatly appreciate it if you'd share the details of how you did that and where you got the parts, et al. :cool:
     
  13. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    2,090
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    I'd use something like this:

    http://www.protectiongroup.com/Surg...Mb-s--RJ-45-Surge-Protector---Transtector-TSJ

    About $110, depending on where you source it.



    I think what atlas was describing is using a pair of transceivers similar to this:
    [ame="http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Fiber-Ethernet-Converter-MCM110SC2/dp/B002Q0WMWQ"]Amazon.com: StarTech.com 10/100 Fiber to Ethernet Media Converter Multi Mode SC 2 km (MCM110SC2): Electronics@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41RP%2BqWEJtL.@@AMEPARAM@@41RP%2BqWEJtL[/ame]

    downside, is that they have to be powered on both sides of the fiber... lots of failure points there, the fiber, transceivers, the power supplies for each.

    If the power supplies aren't plugged into a safe source on both sides, or at least on the interior side, it could negate the whole concept if the interior power supplies gets spiked and then it'll transfer into the transceiver and into the internal network.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Cable / Satellite questions The Okie Corral Mar 31, 2016
Cable TV through Surge Protector ? Tech Talk May 11, 2013
Coaxial power connector??? Tech Talk Jan 15, 2010
How do you "splice" coaxial cable? Tech Talk Nov 14, 2007
Power Surge. Computer fried? Tech Talk Feb 12, 2005