close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Posted this in GATE- Competition, but it was really about GSSF anyway

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by Kobura, Aug 9, 2011.

1. Kobura

Kobura Resident Reptil

So I bought a Glock 23 gen4 for carry. I like it well enough, been shooting a Glock my whole life (since about 6, my father's duty Gen3 23), it fits my hand with the 'L' grip. I like everything about carrying it. It's comforting yes, but also comfortable, and I can get about 75% on soda cans at ...oh maybe 25 yards if I take my good time. But what I was wondering about was... the whole package, 3x13rd magazines, 4" polygonal tube, untuned innards... does this have the chance to do well in competition? I've long said "I want my life to be eat, sleep, guys, work, shoot, and someday hope work and shoot are the same thing."

Does this gun have the potential to do that? Barring my ridiculously rusty, and expensive-to-polish skills (I started shooting around 4 years old, a Mossberg 500 with its' butt unsupported and father's finger holding up the barrel, but took a general hiatus from 14 to 21 while my family scrambled itself like so many bad eggs) is it worth me getting insanely comfortable with this inside and out in a competition and super-precision sense? It's my EDC already and that's not in question, but should I just wait until I change it, or move to a different weapon?

I have my doubts about its' factory accuracy, but it's quite possible it could just be my fairly bad shake because of the crispy-as-grits trigger.