close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Possibly considering joining

Discussion in 'US Army Forum' started by voomie, Mar 20, 2013.

1. voomie

voomie

Sep 23, 2011
    Hi. I just turned 27 and I thinking about joining. I should give a littke background about why I thinking about joining. I graduated last May with two degrees in engineering and I can't find work related to my field and I am working 2 jobs scrubbing toilets to pay the bills. In addition to this my wife decided to leave me. I need a change in my life. I am thinking about joining and going through OCS. Do you think this would be a good idea for me? Also has anyone here had any experience going through OCS?

posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire

2. ArizonaPhil

ArizonaPhil

Jul 8, 2011
    Sunny Arizona
    Sorry to hear about your struggles. I have not gone through OCS, so I can't help you there. However, I was in the military for a while. I have a lot of great memories from my time while in. I'm glad I did it. But don't be fooled, life wasn't always fun while in. But it was always interesting and challenging. And don't think you'd be done scrubbing toilets, there are a lot of toilets to be scrubbed in the military.

Hang in there. Things will turn around for you.

3. matt_lowry123

matt_lowry123

Nov 23, 2008
    owensboro KY
    You could do that, or you could try to relocate. You might even be able to get a job with the FBI or one of the big government agencies.

These are just ideas. I don't have any military experience, so I can't comment on that. I've known guys that jumped into the military after a failed marriage or just a life style change. Some love it and will most likely retire from the service. A few hated it and when they got out they didn't look back.

I hope all goes well for you.

4. oldsoldier

oldsoldier

Jun 22, 2008
    MO