close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Pidgin/Adium/Kopete/Trillian/etc. and Yahoo

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by IndyGunFreak, Jun 19, 2009.


  1. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Lots of issues w/ this.... For those that use one of the many multi-protocol programs to access yahoo, this started popping up last night... I didn't have a problem till this morning. There's a fairly easy fix.

    The below works for Pidgin, and I helped someone adapt it to Adium this morning, but I can't give specific instructions on how to do it w/ any program, but Pidgin, so you'll just have to adapt and overcome if you don't use Pidgin. :)

    In your buddy list,

    Accounts/Manage Accounts

    Click your Yahoo account, and click "Modify"

    Click the "Advanced" tab

    Change "Pager Server" to s101.msg.mud.yahoo.com

    Note: It may not be Pager server in your respective program, Adium calls it Login Server, but you're looking for this line scs.msg.yahoo.com

    Save your changes and restart the program.

    IGF
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 IndyGunFreak, Jun 19, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2009
  2. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    i used to be a big trillian backer about 4 years ago. i have since stopped IMing..but when i did IM, i only used trillian. that ***** is HOTT
     

  3. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    I keep in touch w/ a lot of friends via IM... unfortunately, none of them can decide on one service to use...lol. So Multi-protocol is the only way to go for me. I always used Trillian under Windoze, then found out about GAIM, and started using it.. Then when GAIM became Pidgin, I kept on using Pidgin, and use it on any OS I use.

    One thing about Pidgin, the sound pack is absolutely atrocious. I took the event sounds from Trillian, saved them w/ my backup, and plug them into Pidgin.

    IGF
     
  4. Jtemple

    Jtemple
    Expand Collapse
    Geek

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    788
    0
    Location:
    NE
    For multi-protocol IM, I like Miranda IM Portable. It is very customizable, and very lean. The setup can be a bit overwhelming for some, though.

    Personally, I have a hacked version of Google Talk, made portable. That's all I use. If someone wants to talk to me, get on Google Talk, or don't talk to me. That's what I tell them. I got sick of managing multiple accounts.
     
  5. ron59

    ron59
    Expand Collapse
    Bustin Caps

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    6,927
    20
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    I used Pidgin for awhile here at work, but had to give it up as I couldn't so a "broadcast" IM. I've had multiple occurences of needing to say "Hey! Who's using xxx database right now?" or something, needing urgent responses (email response too slow). You can't do that in Pidgin OR Trillian, so I'm back to using Live Messenger. Not so bad if you run that patch that removes the advertising and stuff.
     
  6. BrushyBill

    BrushyBill
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    149
    0
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    Both Adium and Pidgin were updated recently to fix the Yahoo server upgrade issue that was causing the recent Y! connection failures. Works fine now after upgrading.
     
  7. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yup.... Initially if you went to Pidgin Support, they weren't going to fix it until 2.6.0 came out. Presumably, since Adium is based on Pidgin, it would have been the same way. I guess it became such a problem, they came out w/ 2.5.6 to fix the problem.

    Yay for open source. :)

    IGF