close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Pics of my AR and a couple of questions...

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by tbone86, Dec 30, 2009.

1. tbone86

tbone86

May 12, 2009
    Houston, TX
    [​IMG]
    By jholder86, shot with iPhone 3G at 2009-12-30

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The specs of my rifle:
    Spikes tactical lower
    Rock river lower parts (stage 2 match trigger)
    DPMS 16" 1/9 complete upper
    Magpul MIAD grip (FDE)
    Magpul rear sight (FDE)
    Primary arms Aimpoint Clone
    OD green stock and handguard

What internal parts should I replace (if any) to make this rifle a tank. I've read about titanium firing pins and better extractors, what are your thoughts on those? Also, is a chrome plated bolt and carrier worth investing in? I plan on using it at some carbine courses and if shtf, plus for recreation. I'm still an AR newb so any advice will definately help. Thanks for lookin!

2. RMTactical

RMTactical www.AR15pro.net CLM

Oct 7, 2000
    Behind an AR-15
    May consider buying a BCM bolt carrier group (or at least bolt) and just using that. Keep your original BCG as a spare.

I wouldn't get a titanium firing pin though.

3. HAIL CAESAR

HAIL CAESAR Senior Member

Mar 1, 2007
    In my shop
    Get rid of the RRA 2 stage trigger. It will go out on you, I guaranty it.
    I would run a 5.56 reamer in the DPMS chamber as they are known to stamp 5.56 on the barrel but actually be a .223. That is bad!!!!

If with RM about the BCM bolt or BCG.

You have BUIS so when the fakepoint dies you will have a sighting system.

Last on all I would skip the titanium firing pin stuff.

4. tbone86

tbone86

May 12, 2009
    Houston, TX
    I was wondering about the trigger, my buddy has a timney drop-in on his AR and I loved the pull on it. I'll look into the 5.56 reamer. Thanks

5. HAIL CAESAR

Mar 1, 2007
    In my shop