close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Overhaul

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by fonzy1, Feb 29, 2012.

1. fonzy1

fonzy1
    Expand Collapse

Sorry no Chip Foose.

So as you know I bought it with the sole intention of modding it. So lets begin, first on the list the popular grip reduction. Those of you that have met me know how short and small my hands are. I didn't want to go with the fill and grind method since the heat method seemed easier and this is my first time.

Bought a candle at Wal-Mart $1.88.
    [​IMG]

I suggest getting some blocks (wood) or plastic. The purpose of the blocks are to take the place of the magazine in the well. I have read the some folks have had warpage and their magazines wont drop freely. So we shove the blocks to prevent that from happening. Second it gives you a handle so you wont burn your hand, and lets you get some leverage when rolling.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Hold the frame about 1 inch from the flame, to begin with you might have to lower it that's expected. Slowly move it in circles around the hump area. The plastic color will get flat and then shiny all of a sudden. That's when you roll. Take your time if you get to close to the flame or you leave it to long the plastic will bubble.

You can see in the pics where I slipped ( yea seriously I put to much weight and slipped). So get a non slip surface. The plastic got smeared, I just heated it back up and with a flat screwdriver recontoured the plastic.

Before and After measurements.
    [​IMG]

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 fonzy1, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2012
  2. fonzy1

fonzy1
    Expand Collapse

When I was happy with how it felt I sanded it with 120 grit. You'll have some plastic spread, kind of when you scrape your hand and your skin bunches up and hangs like that. So I just smoothed it out and contoured it a bit.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

3. fonzy1

fonzy1
    Expand Collapse