close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

"OpenDNS" How to get around it?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by knivesandguns, Apr 26, 2009.


  1. knivesandguns

    knivesandguns
    Expand Collapse
    KNOWS Kershaw

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    292
    0
    Location:
    ORYGUN!
    How would you go about getting around this filter? If there are alternate DNS addresses that I need to input, what are the best ones to use, and how would I do it?

    Is this even possible to get around? When the settings are on "high" virtually everything but wikipedia and google is blocked. (Glocktalk is "weapons" etc)

    Thanks guys.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. UtahIrishman

    UtahIrishman
    Expand Collapse
    BLR
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    6,315
    838
    Location:
    Utah
    You'd have to know the IP address of an unknown computer and VNC in, or find a proxy/anonymiser that isn't blocked by OpenDns.

    Basically your screwed.
     

  3. Square Dots

    Square Dots
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    114
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I am not familiar with "openDNS" but if it is truely a dns server and not a web filter, then use 4.2.2.1 or 4.2.2.2 for dns servers under your interface settings.
     
  4. knivesandguns

    knivesandguns
    Expand Collapse
    KNOWS Kershaw

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    292
    0
    Location:
    ORYGUN!
    Shoot....

    Square, could you give me a little more detailed instructions on how to change those settings? I'm not too techy savvy...

    Thanks
     
  5. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    Or you could actually respect the owner of the network and cease trying to circumvent their security measures.
     
  6. Square Dots

    Square Dots
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    114
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Go to Network and sharing center-manage network connections-double click your connection-go to properties-internet protocol version 4- put em in under "use the following dns servers"
     
  7. knivesandguns

    knivesandguns
    Expand Collapse
    KNOWS Kershaw

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    292
    0
    Location:
    ORYGUN!
    Thank you, I tried that, and it still won't work. Right now, I just have to leave my browser open so it saves the current cookies so that the DNS doesn't take over. If I exit, then it'll filter it.
     
  8. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,554
    811
    Location:
    Indiana
    All the more reason you shouldn't do it, because you'll likely get caught. Assuming this is at work, is it worth getting fired for?

    IGF
     
  9. dotsun

    dotsun
    Expand Collapse
    conf t

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    1,183
    21
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    +1, or contact your administrator for help.
     
  10. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    There are many ways to do what you are asking and I’m assuming that it is your employer that is restricting access … most businesses that restrict the web sites that their employees can access will terminate anyone caught circumventing them, or even trying to do so … perhaps yours has such a policy, is your job worth it? Believe it or not most IT departments know what they are doing and they will catch you.
     
    #10 Sgt. Schultz, Apr 27, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2009
  11. betyourlife

    betyourlife
    Expand Collapse
    on a GLOCK

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    5,590
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    1) Use a proxy server

    2) Update your resume in case you get caught.
     
  12. Nidob

    Nidob
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    126
    0
    To quote everyone above...

    Don't. Someone is blocking it for a reason/policy. Get you own network/PC/office too come visit us ;)
     
  13. noway

    noway
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    8,735
    0
    Location:
    Davie "Cowboy" , FL
    You can use any of the tunneling features and tunnel around most, if the network security wasn't all locked down. ( i.e ssh port-forwarding , stunnel, etc....)


    Why do you need to bypass OpenDNS filters?
     
  14. Boilers

    Boilers
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    313
    0
    I use OpenDNS here at home to prevent my kids from wandering through the internet streets. Start by reading OpenDNS's website.

    But, each computer must be pointed to the OpenDNS NAME SERVER. All you have to do is point to some other server OR use a web proxy.

    If you don't know what a NAME SERVER or WEB PROXY is, read.
     
  15. InsaneIrish

    InsaneIrish
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    587
    0
    Actually you can do it at the router level and not just per each PC.
     
  16. pkn.glock23

    pkn.glock23
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    287
    0
    I would back off your network kung Foo is no match for the admins Kung Foo. Get a pda phone and serf with it.
     
  17. insanity.

    insanity.
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    296
    2
    Location:
    Ga
    Are you trying to access this particular site? Have you tried just using the site ip? I have never had to go through opendns so not sure if it would catch it or not. Try this http://74.86.143.97/
     
  18. BigSexy

    BigSexy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    489
    0
    Location:
    Fargo ND
    Use putty to tunnel into a Linux box at home. You will probably be able to bounce out on a standard mail port.
     
  19. Nidob

    Nidob
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    126
    0
    Love Putty saved alot of headaches/money for a terminal emu for SCOUNIX and RedHat here.
     
  20. InsaneIrish

    InsaneIrish
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    587
    0
    Again make sure this is worth your job because I check my client machines at least weekly, randomly, for stuff like this.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Infected with Webget - How to get rid of it?? Tech Talk May 9, 2014
How long did it take you to get used to... General Glocking Oct 6, 2012
How long is it taking to get WI CCL? Carry Issues Dec 1, 2011
How much does it cost to get a cat chipped? Woof Memorial Critter's Corner Jul 8, 2007
How not to get ahead in IT Tech Talk Jul 6, 2007
Duty Gear at CopsPlus