close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

openBSD firewall question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by David_G17, Nov 16, 2005.


  1. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    I installed openBSD 3.8 on a spare computer and intend to setup a webserver on it.

    I noticed iptables isn't installed, but I'm running into problems that seem to point to a local firewall installed.

    What firewall software comes with openBSD?

    And how can I disable all filtering to test out my setup?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
  3. IDtheTarget

    IDtheTarget
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    47
    0
    I can't help with BSD, but if you want to give linux a try, I'm your guy. :) We use RedHat here at work, so the distro I use for training is CentOS. They download RedHat's source code, remove the trademark stuff, and re-compile. (Yes, RedHat allows this. :) )

    Sorry I couldn't help, but if you decide to switch, let me know.
     
  4. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    disregard my former post, still having problems.

    pf wasn't enabled.

    here is my setup:

    Modem (192.168.1.1) -> Server (192.168.1.15)

    from within the same network, I can type in http://192.168.15:8080 and get to the server.

    but I can't type http://{public static ip}:8080 to get to it.

    My ISP blocks port 80, but I have run an online port scanner which tells my port 8080 is open.

    any suggestions?
     
  5. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    we've got Red Hat Enterprise Edition, but we're moving to Debian where i work :( I like fedora core, and if I can't get this straightened out, I may have to install FC.
     
  6. thonl

    thonl
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 1999
    199
    0
    Location:
    Great White North
    192.168.1.1 has to have some sort of port forwarding feature in order to allow outside access. You have to be able to tell it to forward :8080 requests to your inside machine, otherwise it is just trying to hit :8080 on the modem itself.
     
  7. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    oops, I left that out of my description. The modem is set up to forward 8080 TCP requests to 192.168.1.15

    eta: actually, now that you mention it, I was playing with it earlier, and it may have two rules: one to forward 8080 traffic to 192.168.1.15 and one to forward 8080 traffic to 192.168.1.3 - I'm sure that could cause a conflict.

    edited again: well, still having same problem.