close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

One Handgun Per Month - NJ

Discussion in 'Tri State Glockers' started by gallonoffuel, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. gallonoffuel

    gallonoffuel

    78
    1
    Jun 30, 2008
    MD
    Not much traffic in this subforum, and I'm sure everyone already knows, but in case there are any uninformed individuals:

    Here's the list of sponsors so you know who not to vote for:

    And I'm still trying to find the roll call for the vote. It hasn't been published yet.
     
  2. jetdefiant

    jetdefiant

    710
    0
    Nov 16, 2008
    they say the key vote was Fred Madden, GET HIM OUT!!!! he voted no last time and sold us out this time...
     

  3. slewfoot

    slewfoot Random Mayhem

    13,557
    0
    May 13, 2007
    S.E. Pa
    Get out while you still can.

    New Jersey is basket case.

    Good luck paying those new tolls to benefit NYC's new tunnel.
     
  4. What a useless, "feel good" piece of legislation. I calculated that I waited an average of 3-4 months for each pistol purchase that made over the last 5 years (including some multiple permits).

    Can we still get multiple permit to purchase in NJ (and purchase on different months)? It would be cool if we can pick up 2 or 3 and then just use them a month apart.
     
  5. 4570Lever

    4570Lever

    611
    0
    Mar 26, 2005
    You all missed something.

    This is the end of handgun sales in NJ, period.

    There is a technicality in the law that prohibits even DEALERS from buying more than one a month except from other dealers! Wholesalers and distributors are included in the one a month limit. That effectively limits a gun store to one purchase, period. It sounds absurd but its true:

    Bill Could End Handgun Sales in New Jersey: Handgun sales and purchases by New Jersey Retail Dealers are going to virtually end after November 2009. This is because the New Jersey legislature hurriedly passed the so-called “One Gun a Month” bill (A339), which was known to be seriously flawed. The defective bill is absurd, as it address a non-existent problem. No self-respecting gun trafficker would obtain their handguns by first applying for New Jersey Handguns Permits, paying over $50 in fees, and insuring that any handgun he sells on the street was papered to him! Notwithstanding just how idiotic the law is, it awaits the Governor Corzine’s signature and there is no reason to believe he will veto it… Because the law only exempts transfers between licensed retail dealers, the one gun per 30 days restriction still applies to transfers from all others, including wholesale dealers, manufacturers, distributors and individual sellers. Most firearms sold by Retail Dealers are obtained from wholesale dealers, distributors and manufacturers. Many Retail Dealers also buy used firearms from individuals and resell them. It is rare for a retail dealer to buy from other Retail Dealers, which is the only exempted class of transfer… (One could only hope that handgun manufacturers would follow the example of Robbie Barrett, who refuses to sell his firm's rifles to California law-enforcement agenices in response to that state's ban on private ownership of .50-caliber rifles, and refuse to sell handguns to New Jersey’s law-enforcement agencies so long as this law is in existence.)

    http://www.ammoland.com/2009/07/13/new-one-gun-a-months-law-ends-handgun-sales-in-nj/

    I wish someone would start a court case and get this in front of the Supremes. Maybe Heller could provide relief...