close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

? on how to get rid of OS choice menu

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by gee34, Jan 13, 2005.


  1. gee34

    gee34
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 1999
    17
    0
    Location:
    san diego, CA
    Having problems with Windows XP Pro and tried to install the old Windows XP Home (could not find the XP Pro disc). Halfway through, i found the XP Pro disc and decided to cancel the install of XP Home. Now i get a choice of OS menu at every startup instead of going straight to XP Pro. How do i get rid of the other choice (XP setup)? Thanks.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Toyman

    Toyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    2,597
    20
    Location:
    West Michigan
    Control Panel->System, Advanced Tab, 'Startup and Recovery' section, Settings button -> (Change time here, or click Edit Button)
     

  3. Cryptoboy

    Cryptoboy
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Sr. Member!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    230
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Toyman, I think he wanted to get rid of the option altogether, no just minimize the time or the default boot up!

    Just open up the boot.ini file and remove the line with the XP Home portion in it (will look something like this:

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home" /fastdetect )

    Make sure to uncheck the "Read Only" attribute before you open the file (change it back to read only after you are done editing it). Oh and it's located on the root C:

    Almost forgot, it could be hidden, so make sure you have the "Hide protected operating system files" attribute unchecked under the Folder Options --> View tab.
     
  4. gee34

    gee34
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 1999
    17
    0
    Location:
    san diego, CA
    Toyman & Cryptoboy, easy fix thanks to you guys. Worst case scenario, is it possible to install XP Home on the same drive replacing XP Pro? I know my desktop will change, will i lose other files? It is still going to be the same hard drive and i am not reformatting, so i should not lose any, right? Thanks again.
     
  5. Cryptoboy

    Cryptoboy
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Sr. Member!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    230
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Will you lose files? No, not unless you reformat. Most of your programs will end up not working most likely though. You'd be better off just doing a clean install; it'll save you any hassles down the road. Just taking your important files and burn them to CD or a usb drive or something before you format and you'll be fine.
     
  6. gee34

    gee34
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 1999
    17
    0
    Location:
    san diego, CA
    Thanks again. I guess i better backup my important files to a CD just in case.