close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Old Country Road

Discussion in 'Through-the-Lens Club' started by JLB768, Oct 27, 2009.


  1. JLB768

    JLB768
    Expand Collapse
    Old & Grumpy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    9,586
    33
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm losing something in the detail, I seriously think I need a better lens. This was taken with the stock Canon lens that came with my 40D. I wonder what the possibilities could have been with better glass. Took this one yesterday morning about 9am or so, on an old country road, back in a heavily wooded area. Of course Imageshack is yanking more detail out of them.

    [​IMG]
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 JLB768, Oct 27, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2009
  2. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    1,426
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Is that Indiana? I was there just a couple of months ago, looked quite different. Clearly, I missed a spectacular sight.
     

  3. JLB768

    JLB768
    Expand Collapse
    Old & Grumpy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    9,586
    33
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yes Sir, I took that here in Monroe County Indiana.
     
  4. Laramie In MT

    Laramie In MT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    1,251
    0
    Location:
    MT
    What was your aperture? I don't see a whole lot of detail loss. You were shooting into some harsh light that washed a little of the top left corner out.

    Is this the 28-135mm lens or the 18-55 kit lets?
     
  5. JLB768

    JLB768
    Expand Collapse
    Old & Grumpy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    9,586
    33
    Location:
    Indiana
    I took it with a 28-70mm lens. I was at f4 - ISO800 -1/800.
     
  6. nipperwolf

    nipperwolf
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    3,066
    25
    F4 isn't deep enough for most landscape shots. I shoot sports at F2.8 to F4, to blur the background.

    For landscape, you need to be in the F7,8,9, or more, area.

    Also, ISO 800 doesn't help either.
     
    #6 nipperwolf, Oct 30, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  7. JLB768

    JLB768
    Expand Collapse
    Old & Grumpy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    9,586
    33
    Location:
    Indiana
    The problem was, it was early in the am, and still pretty dark in that area. Anything above F4, and below ISO 800, the photos I took came out too dark. In hindsight, I suppose I should have used a longer exposure. I'm relatively new to photography, and a newb with my 40D in manual.
     
  8. mhambi

    mhambi
    Expand Collapse
    κολασμένος
    1. Project Mayhem

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    12,257
    1,977
    Location:
    215
    Tripod+iso100+f16+ longer exp = :thumbsup:


    Still, it's a very nice shot. :cool:
     
  9. JLB768

    JLB768
    Expand Collapse
    Old & Grumpy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    9,586
    33
    Location:
    Indiana
    Thank you. I was using a tripod, just goofed up my settings. I have a new found respect for photographers...