close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Ok, I got a dvr and I need some help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ricky, Aug 16, 2008.


  1. ricky

    ricky
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    556
    9
    Location:
    Miami, Fl.
    I figured out how to work it and now I am running out of space.

    I need to know if there is a way to record this to on to a vcr or computer or do I just have to delete it.

    I would rather save it (programs) for when I have time to see it but I guess the capacity is not as big as i would like.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Cross-X

    Cross-X
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    1,033
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    If you have a Tivo, there are a ton of aftermarket suppliers of larger hard drives.

    Or, you could transfer your shows to videotape.
     

  3. rhikdavis

    rhikdavis
    Expand Collapse
    U.S. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    7,559
    299
    Location:
    In Remembrance
    Do you have Dish Network? If so, you are SOL...

    You can VHS tho.
     
  4. ricky

    ricky
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    556
    9
    Location:
    Miami, Fl.
    do not have tivo or dish, it is direct tv.
     
  5. Gun Shark

    Gun Shark
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    6,191
    651
    Location:
    Florida
    I am pretty sure you can use an external hard drive with direct TV. I would call them and ask them I am sure they will be happy to tell you.
     
  6. najaboy

    najaboy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    358
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Not an entirely accurate statement.

    Newer Dish DVRs such as the 612, 622, and 722 allow a user to transfer content to and from an external HDD.
     
  7. ricky

    ricky
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    556
    9
    Location:
    Miami, Fl.

    Do you have any idea on how to do it?

    I just recently received mine 2 weeks ago so it must be pretty new?