close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Oil Cooled Desktop - Has anyone tried this???

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by gemeinschaft, Jul 2, 2011.


  1. gemeinschaft

    gemeinschaft
    Expand Collapse
    AKA Fluffy316

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    2,181
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I have been watching videos about oil cooled systems for a couple of years, but I have never tried it.

    Do you know anyone who has ever built a desktop in an aquarium filled with oil?

    Check this out :

    I'd be interesting in trying this with an old system just for kicks, but I cannot fathom taking Dual Xeon Procs, 12 gb of DDR3 RAM and Dual Video Cards and dousing them in oil connected to a 1000W Power supply.

    Is this something worth playing with?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,952
    137
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    Well, I am about to dump an Intel Extreme Quad Core cause I can't run it due to heat.

    I smell an experiment coming on...

    What kinda oil? I have also seen the videos, but didn't chase it down...

    Now... what to place it into... The aquarium has been done to death...
     

  3. GotGlock1917

    GotGlock1917
    Expand Collapse
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    6,713
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    I've seen the videos as well. I don't know anyone who has done it.

    It would be fun if you had the old components to risk.
     
  4. Atomic Punk

    Atomic Punk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    3,225
    260
    oil is non conductive. almost any type will do fine. what you want to consider is your cost to fill the tank and how you plan on cooling it. depending on how much heat your system produces the surface area of the oil may be enough to keep the temp down. but it may be necessary to get a pump and radiator to cool off the oil.
     
  5. SPIN2010

    SPIN2010
    Expand Collapse
    Searching ...

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    1,781
    1
    Location:
    On the move ... again!
    It is a mess, go water cooled and save the hassle. You can get away with it on a power supply but, again very messy and it collects dirt like a deep fryer.
     
  6. GotGlock1917

    GotGlock1917
    Expand Collapse
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    6,713
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Ok. I'll try filling the aquarium with water.
     
  7. SPIN2010

    SPIN2010
    Expand Collapse
    Searching ...

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    1,781
    1
    Location:
    On the move ... again!
    :rofl: (I figured you would get the drift)! Swift tech makes a decent system. I run that on mine here and no problems in two years plus. The big issue is getting the sheet metal off the OEM supply, I actually used a processor copper block. I think I have an extra one here for picts.
     
    #7 SPIN2010, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2011
  8. mgo

    mgo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    179
    1
  9. SPIN2010

    SPIN2010
    Expand Collapse
    Searching ...

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    1,781
    1
    Location:
    On the move ... again!
    Pict of the cooler block.
     
  10. handyman

    handyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    1,360
    11
    Knowing my luck I would knock it over.
     
  11. gTWO

    gTWO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    216
    3

    Thermaltake IFX 14 with 2 or 3 fans, AND cut a hole in the PC case, bolt a fan UNDER the processor, to cool the backside of the motherboard. I dropped 10 degrees on my Northbridge, and a couple on the cpu cooled with the IFX by doing that.