Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone. Complaint

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by bigzebra, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. bigzebra


    Oct 14, 2005
    Haven't been here in a while, but I just wanted to throw this out:

    I ordered an item from I immediately received an email confirmation. Three days later I received an email indicating the item was not in stock and was backordered. They didn't hesitate to charge my credit card though.

    Anyone else have any problems from them?
  2. indigent

    indigent Bamboozled

    Jul 2, 2005
    I have been ordering stuff from their sister company, The for at least 10 years now.... They are good people and are happy to answer questions. Call them

    And yes, I've had them do that in the past...

  3. scottydl


    May 31, 2005
    The Middle
    bigzebra, what was their response when you contacted them?
  4. bigzebra


    Oct 14, 2005
    Here is their response:

    "Thank you for contacting The Fire Store and Officer Store. I have cancelled your order as you have requested. If you placed your order by credit card, please allow 1-2 business days for the authorization to be released from your account. If you have any further questions or concerns, feel free to let us know. We hope that you continue to consider us for all of your public safety equipment needs."

    I do think the response is amicable, although no refund yet. Maybe I'm pampered with the likes of other online retailers such as Amazon, but I don't think it's a good business practice to 'sell' something that's not in stock. Then charge for it.
  5. scottydl


    May 31, 2005
    The Middle
    The problem is that the majority of small online companies (the company is just a virtual storefront) actually stock items themselves. They just sell them and rely on suppliers to stock/ship/store the items. Something usually kept in stock can run out, and the company ( in this case) has no way to know until they initiate their own purchase and request to have one shipped.

    True, they shouldn't have charged your card until it was on the way. But again they are probably using a third-party credit card processor that has no relationship with the supplier, hence no communication. It's the nature of online purchases these days, except with some of the mega-retailers you mentioned like Amazon.
  6. JimD303


    Nov 11, 2006

    Sorry to hear that we struck out with your order.

    We really do our best to make sure we have products in stock, so we're sorry to hear that we fell short this time.

    Without knowing what your order was for, any number of things could have happened to cause it to be out of stock. Sometimes it can be delays from the manufacturer, sometimes it can be that we recently filled a large department order and are awaiting restock, and yes sometimes we have item we have on our website that we have to "special order". We do our best to be up front about those items, and to advertise lead times (such as with made to order body armor, or new products with production delays like the new EOTech Magnifier.)

    There is no reason that your card should have been charged, however. We do authorize credit cards at the time that orders are placed to make sure that the funds are available, but they should not get charged until the order ships. If your card was actually charged, and not just authorized (which should show up as a hold) then we'd very much like to know about it.

    As for the suggestion that we're just a virtual store-front (it's easy to look big on the internet), I'd invite you to check out some of the pictures of our facility:

    The above linked pictures are of our 5k square foot showroom, and below are just a few pictures from our 30,000 square foot warehouse at our headquarters (one of our 4 locations).




    We certainly want to keep the products you want in stock, so we're never happy to hear that we didn't have what you needed, when you needed it.

    That said, we're always open to feedback on how we can be a better place to shop. If you have any suggestions, or can share what products we didn't have in stock for you, we'd love to hear about them so we can do a better job in the future.

    We certainly want to get to the bottom of what happened with your credit card, and make sure it wasn't charged.

    Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

    Stay safe,

    Jim Davis
    Lead Law Enforcement Specialist

    Witmer Public Safety Group, Inc
    104 Independence Way
    Coatesville, PA 19320
    Phone: 800-852-6088 ext 1115
    Fax: 484-288-6435
  7. Gallium

    Gallium CLM

    Mar 26, 2003

    Very classy of you sir. You've earned my respect and future potential business.

    - G.
  8. collim1

    collim1 Shower Time!

    Mar 14, 2005
    I heard that drop shipping is what killed Expresspolicesupply.
  9. DaBigBR

    DaBigBR No Infidels!

    Oct 28, 2005
    Circling the wagons.
    They lost their line of credit with their bank.
  10. scottydl


    May 31, 2005
    The Middle
    ^^ Hence the dangers of running a business based on credit and outside suppliers, rather than cash and actual inventory.
  11. Steve in PA

    Steve in PA

    Mar 1, 2000
    I have done business with Officerstore, both personally and through my department without any complaints or issues.
  12. Cochese

    Cochese Most mackinest CLM

    Jun 30, 2004
    Unmarked Rustbox
    Never ordered from there before and I am a major equipment whore.

    After Jim's classy response, I will be.
  13. Gallium

    Gallium CLM

    Mar 26, 2003

    Cleaned that up for you a bit sir.

    Glad I could help. :cool:
  14. sheriff733

    sheriff733 NRA LIFE MEMBER

    Nov 4, 2007

    Nicely done, Jim. You don't see that often.

    I'll be stopping by your site momentarily.
  15. Gallium

    Gallium CLM

    Mar 26, 2003
    Hot damn I was in Kennett Square recently, with many hours to burn...looks like is only a few hops away. Definately going to keep your store and weblink in mind.
  16. CJStudent

    CJStudent Fenced In

    Nov 3, 2005