Officer shot when child pulls trigger

Discussion in 'Civil Liberties Issues' started by Sniffler, Sep 3, 2013.

1. Children are very good at pointing out the short comings of both adults and their equipment.

2. FL Airedale

FL Airedale Dog Breath

A holster that doesn't completely cover the trigger isn't safe, especially with Glocks. It could just as well gotten caught on something when the officer was sitting down or getting in his car.

Fortunately, no one was seriously hurt.

3. Open carry would have prevented this.

THERE! I said it first!

In all seriousness, I hope the Officer's okay, and I hope they find the kid and talk to him to find out what exactly happened. Obviously, this wasn't a proper holster. I carried my G22 in a Safariland Raptor 6270 Level II holster when I worked as an Armed Security Officer, and this would never have happened with a proper duty holster of good quality design.

4. Lack of situational awareness perhaps??

Not to mention, why is he carrying one in the chamber in a classroom full of children?? Poor safety measures at the very least.

5. Why are they using a holster that does not cover the trigger especially on a Glock?

6. If some freak came in and started shooting the place up and this guys gun wasn't loaded everyone would blame him if a single person was hurt.

Its loaded because evil doesn't care if the room is full of kids.

7. Geko45

Geko45 Smartass Pilot
    CLM

Actually, that seems to have been the problem here. In this case, concealed carry would have prevented it.

:tongueout:

#8 Geko45, Sep 3, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  8. Ack! Foiled by my own stupidity! :dunno::supergrin:

9. Ok...

i'll give you that. However, it seems a bit unlikely that some nut is going to attack a school with a SWAT van parked out front.

Not to mention that it takes about one second to rack the slide and put a round in the chamber should he need to use the gun for defense purposes in a situation like the one you put forth.