close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

No boot device available (help)

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by fran m, Oct 29, 2010.


  1. fran m

    fran m
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    1,550
    7
    Location:
    drexel hill pa
    Went to start my Dell desktop computer last night. Cat hit the keyboard as it was starting up and I got "Noboot device available-strike f1 to retry boot,f2for setup utility". I don't know what this means and don't even know what a boot device is.

    Don't know whether there was a problem before and the cat hitting some keys while starting up had nothing to do with it at all.

    Not real computer saavy.

    Please help if you can, it will be much appreciated.

    Thanks

    Fran M
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 fran m, Oct 29, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,683
    972
    Location:
    Indiana
    The boot device is your hard drive.

    So I take it you turned the machine off, and back on and it is not booting?

    IGF
     

  3. fran m

    fran m
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    1,550
    7
    Location:
    drexel hill pa
    Yes, When I tried to turn the machine on, that's the message I got. Computer had been "Off"
     
  4. filthy infidel

    filthy infidel
    Expand Collapse
    100% Infidel

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    2,490
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Is there a thumbdrive or cd in the machine prior to boot?
     
  5. thesid

    thesid
    Expand Collapse
    XenomorphHunter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    253
    7
    Location:
    LV-426
    .....
     
    #5 thesid, Oct 29, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
  6. fran m

    fran m
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    1,550
    7
    Location:
    drexel hill pa
    No, don't often use thumbdrives. No disks in either space. The top one wouldn't open. Had to use a paperclip to open it. Still, after starting up again, the same message.
     
  7. NMGlocker

    NMGlocker
    Expand Collapse
    BOOM headshot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    2,014
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Your hard drive cable is probably loose and not making a good connection (seen it on Dells before).
    About a 2 minute fix, just unplug your machine, slide the cover off and look for the hard drive and the ribbon cable, make sure it's seated on the drive and the motherboard.
    Remember that static electricity is not your friend, before touching the guts of a computer with your hand, touch the metal frame of the computer a few times to discharge it to ground.
     
    #7 NMGlocker, Oct 29, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
  8. fran m

    fran m
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    1,550
    7
    Location:
    drexel hill pa
    Thanks, checked it out, all seems tight inside. Pressed all of the wires I saw to seat them, none seemed loose. Still, no go.

    Fran M
     
  9. cgwahl

    cgwahl
    Expand Collapse
    Sheriffs a near

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    6,283
    12
    Location:
    CA
    It's already been covered, but reverify nothing is in or connected to the computer, USB drive, CD's, etc.


    If that still doesn't help...if you feel brave enough, go into the setup utility (F2) and see if the hard drive is in the list of possible boot devices. It'll be under boot order or something of that nature. If it isn't in the list, add it. If it is in the list, try making it first if it isn't already.

    I've occasionally seen it where the hard drive disappears from the BIOS boot devices or for some reason the hard drive has to be first all of a sudden. Possibly because it temporarily couldn't see it. Who knows.
     
    #9 cgwahl, Oct 29, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
  10. stooxie

    stooxie
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    1,069
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Cat was probably a coincidence. Hard drive could have simply died.

    -Stooxie
     
  11. fran m

    fran m
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    1,550
    7
    Location:
    drexel hill pa
    What does a new hard drive run, installed. It is a Dell, I'll have to check the model.
     
  12. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,683
    972
    Location:
    Indiana
    You'll get tagged having someone install it for you...

    Hard Drive can cost anywhere from 79-200... .Do you know what type of hard drive it has? What model Dell is it?

    Also, does your PC have a recovery partition on the hard drive(to reinstall the OS) or did you get CD's, and if you got CD's, do you still have them?

    IGF