close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New server seems SLOW!

Discussion in 'Update/Upgrade Info Forum' started by MyGlock5D, Dec 24, 2008.


  1. MyGlock5D

    MyGlock5D
    Expand Collapse
    OEF I Vetern

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    277
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Any one else waiting unusually long for page loads? Some times I have to hit refresh just to get the page to load.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Razrbk444

    Razrbk444
    Expand Collapse
    Sumthin' Witty
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    1,096
    10
    Location:
    NE Arkansas
    It seemed slow for a few minutes on my end, but went back to normal. Working fine now.
     

  3. Bert Man

    Bert Man
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    39
    0
    Location:
    South MS
    I too, have experienced slow page/post , even going back ever since the re-worked site came on line. Sometimes 1-2 full minute delays even clicking on posts. Can be be iritating. Have noticed it takes awhile for advertising picture upper right of each page to load, however, there is often still further delay for pages/posts to load. The old site did have its deficiencies but loading was always almost instantaneous.

    Have not made any changes on my end and nearly all other sites that I frequent are much faster. Is a shame because the subject matter and great information on Glock Talk has always been first rate. Just takes too much time now to browse the site. Oh, well, what do I know?
     
  4. Zeos

    Zeos
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    48
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    I used to admin a REALLY large motorcycle community (very close to the size of GT membership-wise) ...I took care of the servers running on the back end of things (ie no one knows you until something goes wrong :) )

    It's going to take some time to get things tuned the way they probably were on the old box. We'd all like to have our server(s) squared away before the move, but there are things inevitably overlooked until the whole shebang is placed under a real world load. Give the guy(s) working on it some time to sort it out, and I'm sure they'd appreciate any feedback (one way or another).
     
  5. DJ Niner

    DJ Niner
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    14,651
    528
    Location:
    North-Central USA
    Folks, I don't know what to tell you except the site is FLYING for me. Even with my ad-blocker turned off, all pages load in less than one second. ALL of them. Starting from the page click, I can't even quickly say "one-thousand-and-one", and the next page is completely loaded. With the ad-blocker On, it is slightly faster.

    If other boards are still running at the same speed for you guys, then it must be some kind of conflict between the new version of GT and your computer/browser, because I really don't think it is the server. If it was the server, it would be slow for EVERYONE, and that's definitely not the case.

    Perhaps you could try tweaking a few settings, or another browser (if you have a "spare" one loaded/running)?

    EDITED TO ADD: I just tried surfing the site in IE ( I normally use Firefox), and it's definitely slower, but still quite acceptable. Of 20 page loads, the slowest was just under 4 seconds, with most between 2 and 3 seconds from click to done.


    .
     
    #5 DJ Niner, Dec 31, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2008
  6. Zeos

    Zeos
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    48
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Or it could be that they're browsing during a period of higher traffic/server loads. I notice slowdowns at different times of the day/evening, while other times the server is screaming fast....
     
  7. DJ Niner

    DJ Niner
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    14,651
    528
    Location:
    North-Central USA
    Also quite possible. I'm always on late at night or early in the AM, when it's rarely busy.
     
  8. Eric

    Eric
    Expand Collapse
    Big Giant Head
    Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1970
    56,204
    3,119
    Guys, this new server has 16 processing cores and 16GB of memory. there really aren't any traffic-based slowdowns any more. We will keep looking for any potential bottlenecks, but the server is good to go. Eric
     
  9. Zeos

    Zeos
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    48
    0
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Sweet setup ya got, I had to make do with what often seemed like the equivalent of an old 486 (we didn't have the cash for the latest and greatest, so we used 2 servers, both 1.6GHZ dual athlon MP's with 4GB each)

    We ran an older version of vBulletin (2.x) and regularly had 1000+ users online(in it's heyday), Ran webmail for our users with virus and spam scanning, mysql replication for redundancy, and streaming audio (3 channels). Let me tell you, wringing that much out of so little hardware is a royal PITA. Pretty much every piece of software had to be custom compiled to remove excess 'fluff' and every kilobyte of RAM allocated properly in MySQL.

    It took MANY hours of optimization to get that thing running up to snuff...I would have killed to have hardware like this to throw at it :)
     
  10. Glockdude1

    Glockdude1
    Expand Collapse
    Federal Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    23,739
    1,829
    Location:
    Beaumont,Texas
  11. neonhomer

    neonhomer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    113
    0
    Location:
    Volusia County, FL
    I have been having problems replying... part of it is the slow as hell Internet connection in this hotel, but it seems the site times out before the reply gets uploaded...
     
  12. jnojr

    jnojr
    Expand Collapse
    Grrrrrrr...

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    5,996
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    GT is almost unusably slow for me. I use Firefox. It isn't latency. But it takes about a minute for each page to be displayed.
     
  13. dances with guns

    dances with guns
    Expand Collapse
    ahahahaha

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    1,520
    0
    i use safari on my mac, and GT is almost unusabley slow for me too. getting these weird looking error pages too. i'm gonna frequent this forum much less until it's resolved. i don't have enough patience to wait for pages to load.
     
  14. schild

    schild
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    2,488
    1
    Location:
    Socialist Republic of Illinois
    How could we get so lucky to see less of "dances with guns"?
     
  15. dances with guns

    dances with guns
    Expand Collapse
    ahahahaha

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    1,520
    0
    actually it works fine for me now, so i'm back and happier than ever to annoy whiners like you :wavey:
     
  16. PATRICE

    PATRICE
    Expand Collapse
    . . . . .

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    782
    0
    .....
     
    #16 PATRICE, Nov 29, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2009
  17. Fishslayer

    Fishslayer
    Expand Collapse
    Retired squid

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    113
    0
    Location:
    PRK
    Not THAT bad for me, but yeah... really REALLY slow...

    Imagine that...:whistling:

    Understandable. Hardly anybody is running Firefox.:upeyes:

    It's not you...

    Probly not the ads, either...
     
  18. DenaliPark

    DenaliPark
    Expand Collapse
    Poet Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    4,683
    0
    Location:
    South shore/Lk Superior
    Virtually unusable! I have had an endless stream of issues for about two months now peaking with this inability to load a particular page or thread or forum!
    I was first contacted with an email prompt that my membership was expiring:upeyes:which was strange as I'm a CLM. So I coughed up an additional membership fee and promptly was locked out of most every GT function!
    Mrs VR appears to have restored that access, now I'm dealing with the total inability to access forums, threads, ect...For instance instead of loading the page after a minute or so I'm simply redirected to the www....
    It's become very very frustrating...:crying:
     
  19. ldrichard

    ldrichard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    240
    3
    Location:
    Jacksonville
    No problems for me.
     
  20. J.R. Bob Dobbs

    J.R. Bob Dobbs
    Expand Collapse
    Nerd

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2000
    1,259
    83
    Location:
    McGaheysville, VA
    To me, it seems that the side/top banner ads have significantly slowed down the loading of all pages. As a page is loading, text areas change shape as the side banners are loading, this takes awhile, once the banners have loaded it then gets fast. This seems to occur upon initial opening of each page.

    For the last day or so, lots of pages won't even load, get the message "503 Service Unavailable, the server is temporarily busy, try again later" with reference to a "LiteSpeed Web Server".
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
thinking of getting a new media server Tech Talk Jun 9, 2009
Need server distro suggestion or new processor. Tech Talk May 25, 2009
New Server Specs Tech Talk Jul 26, 2007
Slow The Lighter Side Feb 7, 2005
New Wireless Router--slow connection Tech Talk Nov 10, 2004
Duty Gear at CopsPlus