close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New HD for an Old iMAC

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Wulfenite, Dec 11, 2004.


  1. Wulfenite

    Wulfenite
    Expand Collapse
    The King

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    1,861
    0
    Location:
    Pretty Fly for a White Guy
    I've got an old imac that I want to rehab to give to my son's teacher for use in her classroom.

    The HD in the thing was giving off errors but instead of fixing it we just abandoned it and I set up a PC for the wife to get her email on.

    Any suggestions on where to start researching on what kind of drive it will take and and where to look for one cheep?

    Also, how do you get in the case on those things.

    Obviously I'm not a mac person.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Well lets see since I am not a MAC person.

    I suspect it uses standard hard drives. I bet you all you have to do is replace the hard drive with a standard IDE.

    And if you need further info

    go and Google It.
     

  3. Wulfenite

    Wulfenite
    Expand Collapse
    The King

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    1,861
    0
    Location:
    Pretty Fly for a White Guy
    I guess that's part of what I'm asking. Does it use "regular" IDE hard drives? Now if I can just figure out how to get into the case.
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,536
    781
    Location:
    Indiana
    Not a Mac person..

    I thought all Mac's used SCSI drives?

    IGF
     
  5. 308endurdebate

    308endurdebate
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    116
    1
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Apple left the SCSI drives with the introduction of their IMACs and G4s. They're all IDE. As for opening the cases, almost all the mac desktops systems (and laptops) require some strange custom screw driver... costs about $35 for the. A std torquex works in many cases (I've never opened an IMAC).
     
  6. mwheeler

    mwheeler
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    91
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I put an 80GB Seagate in an old iMac a couple of months ago... $60 after rebate at Best Buy. Was in Best Buy the other day, and same drive is now $39 after rebate. There is no excuse not to put a bigger drive in an older iMac. Here is a link to one of many sites describing the take-apart:
    http://www.macworld.com/2001/10/bc/howtoimac/
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
New G43 for an old airbag General Glocking May 1, 2015
New grips for an old friend. 1911 Forums Dec 27, 2014
New HDD for iMac Tech Talk Jan 28, 2011
Gonna buy an iMac Tech Talk May 7, 2010
putting old computer's HD into new computer Tech Talk Jan 4, 2006
Duty Gear at CopsPlus