New Glock...how to clean?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by oldmonastery, Jun 4, 2014.

1. Hey guys-

I'm going to go out on a limb here and show my ignorance, but I need an answer haha.

I'm new to guns, and I recently bought a glock 19. As I'm sure many of you know, the gun has some orange-brown, rusty-looking lubrication on it that they must put on in the factory.

So my question is to you guys/gals: do you wipe that off and oil it yourselves before shooting it for the first time? Also, if you don't mind expounding on how you clean it in general when you get a brand new gun? I've just heard some horror stories of a guy who messed up his slide by firing it straight out of the box, and I don't want to repeat his mistake. Thanks for your time.

OM

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 oldmonastery, Jun 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2014
  2. 1-2man

1-2man Part Time

3. Clean the barrel and start cycling ammo through it.

4. Good Luck with your new Glock, they are pretty indestructible, Shoot the heck out of it and enjoy.

If you are new to guns see if you can find a friend or maybe even the gun store whom you purchased it from to show you how to clean the gun properly. Up until this year (I had a knee replacement) I regularly compete allot with a couple of Glock. we normally go the entire season with out cleaning my Glocks. We have a gun cleaning party and do them all at once.

One of the benefits of a Glock is they need very little attention

#5 misunderestimated, Jun 5, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014
  5. Run a patch thru the bore to remove any excess oil and shoot as is.

6. Best video I've seen.

[ame]http://youtu.be/E1m6Qct68wo[/ame]

7. Thanks everyone. Lol at that vid xmanhockey7

8. I'd certainly go to YouTube and search "how to clean your Glock" for more information. As entertaining as that video was, it disagrees with several others. Darn sexy, though :thumbsup: