close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New Computer Question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by handyman, Nov 6, 2012.


  1. handyman

    handyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    1,356
    10
    Just build a new computer need to transfer music over from old one. Was thinking of making a cross over cable, did try an external hdd but leaves more files when I copy the music over, like the name of the hdd and other files that were on it when I bought it. Thanks
     
  2. TK-421

    TK-421
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    9,995
    649
    Location:
    Pflugerville, TX
    I just copy the "Music" folder onto an external hard drive and then copy that onto my new computer. Never given me any issues or any extra files. You can try wiping the external hard drive and then copying just the "Music" file onto it.
     

  3. handyman

    handyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    1,356
    10
    Wiped the hdd again and copied music than plugged into new one. When I try to drag it over to the new music folder it says copy link to I portable hdd. The problem I have is the protable hdd has to be connected in order to play music or it will not play.
     
  4. X-ray 4N6

    X-ray 4N6
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    475
    16
    Location:
    London (ex SA)
    Sounds like you are only copying links to the files, not the files themselves. What format are these files, MP3?
     
  5. handyman

    handyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    1,356
    10
    Got it, thanks.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
New Computer ? Tech Talk May 13, 2012
New computer Tech Talk Mar 17, 2012
Computer question. Okie Memorial Area May 10, 2011
Computer question. Okie Memorial Area Dec 22, 2010
Computer question. Tech Talk Mar 1, 2009
Duty Gear at CopsPlus