close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New build...SLOOOOW Bootup

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by -=DFOX=-, Jan 20, 2005.


  1. -=DFOX=-

    -=DFOX=-
    Expand Collapse
    Border Bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    199
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I just finished my first scratch built PC, but I'm having very slow boot up. 1st, my screen for the mobo comes up (ASUS A8V Deluxe) and it hangs around for a good 30 seconds.

    Then Scanning IDE.....and this message "No fastrack controller found, the bios is not installed"

    then a blinking cursor for another good 40 seconds.

    Here are my spec's

    ASUS A8V MoBo
    1 gb kingston ram Dual Channel
    AMD 3200+ Athlon Winchester Core
    Nvidea 6600 GT Video Card
    Running win XP Home

    Any ideas to speed up the boot, other than that, the PC is a smokin fast setup, great for games.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. the-fixer

    the-fixer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    5
    0
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    I had a similar issue with an ASUS motherboard. Change the jumper on the hard drive to cable select (CS) and try again.
     

  3. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Does that motherboard do RAID? If it does disable that in the BIOS.
     
  4. -=DFOX=-

    -=DFOX=-
    Expand Collapse
    Border Bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    199
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    This wont affect any files or anything? Just want to make sure.
     
  5. -=DFOX=-

    -=DFOX=-
    Expand Collapse
    Border Bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    199
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes, the board supports that, I will look into that, I appreciate all the help guys.
     
  6. the-fixer

    the-fixer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    5
    0
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    No, changing the jumper won't affect the format, files and the like.
     
  7. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Turn off the Promise controller and anything that's not used such as the onboard Network Interface Card if you have no LAN, the AC'97 sound if you have a PCI Soundblaster card...you get the idea.

    Also check in the Device Manager to see if there are any !"s in yellow triangles, which show that some drivers are still awaiting installation.
     
  8. -=DFOX=-

    -=DFOX=-
    Expand Collapse
    Border Bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    199
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    cool, cant wait to get home and try that stuff. Thanks guys.
     
  9. MB-G26

    MB-G26
    Expand Collapse
    Bk2MiscResource
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    6,332
    516
    Location:
    Missing Sharon
    http://www.activewin.com/winxp/tips/advanced/4.shtml
    http://www.sanx.org/tipShow.asp?articleRef=65 {Page not responding at this moment for some reason; BlackViper page is probably better, anyway. See below}

    http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm
    I've found XP to be a lot more tolerable after being tamed a bit :)
    m
     
  10. -=DFOX=-

    -=DFOX=-
    Expand Collapse
    Border Bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    199
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Turned off promise and raid, that knokced off about 15 seconds. The biggest hangup now is the black screen with the blinking cursor, goes on for about 45 seconds, cant seem to figure it out.
     
  11. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    it's probably a hardware issue. last time i saw that, i fixed it by just taking the jumper off the back of a hard drive (but of course, that depends on the way the drive is built). it set the drive to master rather than cable select. tremendous (like 30 seconds) time improvement. YMMV
     
  12. -=DFOX=-

    -=DFOX=-
    Expand Collapse
    Border Bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    199
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    You rock!! I actually moved it from master to CS and it turns on in about 30 seconds, i owe you one ;c
     
  13. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    2,696
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    If theres an option in BIOS for Fast Boot or something, that helps a lot.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
New build... Black Rifle Forum Sep 1, 2012
new build Tech Talk Feb 8, 2012
New build....success! Tech Talk Dec 26, 2008
New PC Build Tech Talk May 17, 2006
a new build Tech Talk Dec 28, 2005
Duty Gear at CopsPlus