Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Forum at

Why should YOU join our forums?

• Reason #1
  • Reason #2
  • Reason #3

Site Description

Need some opinions on a 45

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by CATATOMIC, May 19, 2012.

Apr 5, 2003
    First of all I'm a 22 year veteran in law enforcement and prior to that I served in the U.S. Army. I'm pretty up to speed on firearms especially Glocks. I'm a certified Glock Armorer also. I just want some opinions. I mainly carry 40's right now because that's what I'm issued and have a 9mm and 357 Glock. I owned a G21 several years ago and like an idiot I sold it. I want to buy another 45 and I'm torn between another G21 and a Springfield 1911 Range Officer. The only experience I've had with 1911's was in the military where I carried a Colt 1911 and loved it. I've shot 1911's that belonged to others before but have never owned one. I love the feel of the 1911 and I held a Range Officer the other day and just really liked the feel of it and the smooth trigger. I'm kind of torn. Any advice?
  2. Well I say go with the 1911 because you've handled Glocks on a day to day basis, why not have a nice 1911 that you can have some "fun" time and not feel like your just going through the motions with another glock :) plus you handled the one you wanna get and liked it :)

3. mrsurfboard

mrsurfboard The Anti-Glock

May 23, 2010
    You already have 2 Glocks, no reason to get a third. Get the 1911.
  4. bac1023

Sep 26, 2004
    Go for the Range Officer.
  5. SiberianErik

Feb 9, 2009
    This, I shot Glocks in 40 for years. On a lark I traded a G27 + $$ for a Springer 1911 and never looked back.
    Last edited: May 19, 2012

Apr 5, 2003
    I think I want the 1911. I've never owned one and like someone said I own several Glocks. Think it's time to make a change and get something different. I'm about Glocked out. I carry Glocks everyday both on and off duty plus I work on Glocks all the time.