close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need some help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Patricia, Jan 17, 2005.


  1. Patricia

    Patricia
    Expand Collapse
    Wild at heart
    Millennium Member CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 1999
    3,399
    0
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Well this is one I've never experienced before (otherwise known as "I think my computer hates me).

    I'll be typing away and all of a sudden my screen will go completely black. It is only for a couple of seconds, and I'm right back where I was with no loss of data, but I'm wondering what piece of equipment I'll have to think about replacing next. ;Q Any ideas?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Stompy

    Stompy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    144
    12
    Location:
    Georgia
    I would suspect your monitor first, and the video card second. Virtually anything else would cause other symtoms as well.
     

  3. bangelo

    bangelo
    Expand Collapse
    MAC dADDY

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    235
    0
    Location:
    Near my G17
    Make sure the cable that goes from your monitor to the back of your computer is secure also.
     
  4. Patricia

    Patricia
    Expand Collapse
    Wild at heart
    Millennium Member CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 1999
    3,399
    0
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Thanks guys. All cables are secure. I thought maybe I was having power spikes, but no other equipment seems affected. I thought monitor or video card also. Sigh.
     
  5. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    perhaps monitor may be going out. it's not an i-Mac is it? i've seen that on a few i-mac's b4 the screen died.

    do you leave the monitor on all day? if it's overheating, it might cut itself off. i found that out in college when working for like 14 hours straight.
     
  6. Patricia

    Patricia
    Expand Collapse
    Wild at heart
    Millennium Member CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 1999
    3,399
    0
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    No, it's an Envision Flat Panel. It's on almost all day, but I have the energy saver thingie set for 20 minutes.
     
  7. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    it's probably not a heat issue if you have an LCD screen.

    the backlight is probably going out. i don't know how much it would cost to replace just the backlight.

    these guys repair/fix them http://fixmymonitor.com/index.asp i've never worked with them, just came up on google, and they mention Envision specifically.

    the cheapest alternative i've found is to disassemble the monitor and look at the manufacturer of the screen and model number (that's the only way i know to get the info). then search e-bay for the LCD screen. they usually run about $100.

    maybe someone else will chime in with a cheaper solution. :)
     
  8. echo99

    echo99
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    27
    0
    Location:
    SC
    Check your video resolution, I have seen this before. Don't go to high with it
     
  9. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon

    If you aren't running a UPS, this sort of problem becomes a lot more prevalent.

    Sadly, since an uninterruptible line filter isn't included with a new PC most folks think they are optional.

    I would never run a PC costing more than $50 without a UPS worth at least that!! Experience is a good teacher. For some.

    Anyway, with a UPS filtering your line current, you can remove a possible cause from the equation since your components are running straight from the battery.

    Elimination via filtration will put you even closer to the fix while also protecting your PC from any possible power-related damage or flakiness.

    Good luck!
     
  10. vastdavidson

    vastdavidson
    Expand Collapse
    Still Lost!

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    6
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    We had this same issue at the office. Try unplugging it from the wall for a minute then plug it back in. Kinda weird but it fixed it for a month...then back to unplugging and plugging back in. Seems like all our LCD's do that.
     
  11. Patricia

    Patricia
    Expand Collapse
    Wild at heart
    Millennium Member CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 1999
    3,399
    0
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    I have a UPS. I don't think power is the problem.

    Thanks for your help everyone. Sounds like this is one of those things that is tough to diagnose without seeing.