close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need some computer upgrade help, please!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Zombie Steve, Nov 30, 2008.

1. Zombie Steve

Zombie Steve
    Expand Collapse
    Decap Pin Killa

I got Left 4 Dead last night, and realized that I'm seriously underpowered to run this game. I made the assumption that since I've been able to run HL2 and Counter-Strike that this would work (same engine?).

Anyway, I'm running 300 MHz, 512 Ram, Radeon 9800 video card (driver is up-to-date).

I'm searching around, and I'm seeing that I'd probably have to upgrade the motherboard to boost the RAM to a decent level. I'd probably want a new video card too...

My question is - for the cost of upgrading this, should I just buy a new tower? What are your thoughts? Where do you get your hardware? Is Vista as bad as I've heard?

Please be nice - I'm not really good at this stuff. I'm a guy that still has a record player in the living room. :embarassed:

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Glock 19 God

Glock 19 God
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

You need to tell us all of the information.

I would like to know your motherboard, RAM (amount and speed), video card, and CPU.

If you bought your PC from a manufacturer just give me the model number and I can look up the specs.

Vista is NOT as bad as you have heard. It is a bunch of people jumping on the "i have to agree with them so i am cool" bandwagon. 90% of the people who have problems with Vista have a 10 year old PC, and they cant figure out why it runs like crap.

My advice, without knowing the information, would be to build your OWN pc. You can build a mid-range gaming rig that will max out L4D and play a large amount of other games at high settings for around $800.

3. kalashluvr

kalashluvr
    Expand Collapse

I just looked up the minimum required specs for a pc to run this game and here's what I got.

1. OS: Windows XP, Vista, Vista 64